skip to main content

The Quantum Enigma Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set

by Epica

Release Date: 05 May 2014

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Nuclear Blast


Out of stock

Add to Wish List

Epica The Quantum Enigma Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set

· Epica have earned their reputation as one of the foremost symphonic metal bands by repeatedly shattering expectations and pushing the very limits of the genre. ‘The Quantum Enigma’, their sixth full length studio album, is Epica like you’ve never heard them before - larger than life, expertly mixing devilishly sharp guitars, angelic choruses, evocative synthesizers, mindboggling drum work, and of course, another soaring vocal performance from Simone Simons. It is simultaneously the band’s most intense and emotional release to date. Guitarist Mark Jansen credits increased collaboration between members of the band with this: “More than any of our previous albums, ‘The Quantum Enigma’ is the result of a group effort.”
· The band’s quest to annihilate artistic stagnation continued with their choice of collaborators. After five albums of successfully working with producer Sascha Paeth (who still played an important role during the preproduction
sessions), Epica opted to record ‘The Quantum Enigma’ with Joost van den Broek at Sandlane Recording Facilities in the Netherlands. “After many years, there comes a point at which you want to try out some new methods in order to keep yourself fully motivated, and to refresh your music and mind. This was such a turning point for us.”
· ‘The Quantum Enigma’ also marks the first collaboration between Epica and mixer Jacob Hansen (Volbeat). Given the boundary-defying nature of the music on ‘The Quantum Enigma’, it’s appropriate that the album’s lyrics were
inspired by one the most mind bending theories in quantum physics - our physical environment is directly influenced by our consciousness; we don’t see things as they are, we see things as we are. These heady themes reflect in the lyrics of both Mark Jansen and Simone Simons, who says that ‘The
Quantum Enigma’ is “an exploration of the subconscious mind.” Those lyrical concepts, combined with the undeniable power of the music, ensure that ‘The Quantum Enigma’ is not just an album, it’s an experience.
· Gatefold 140gm double vinyl includes a bonus track.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Originem
2. The Second Stone
3. The Essence Of Silence
4. Victims Of Contingency
5. Sense Without Sanity - The Impervious Code
6. Unchain Utopia
7. The Fifth Guardian - Interlude
8. Chemical Insomnia

Disc: 2
1. Reverence - Living In The Heart
2. Omen - The Ghoulish Malady
3. Canvas Of Life
4. Natural Corruption
5. The Quantum Enigma - Kingdom Of Heaven Part II
6. Bonus: Memento (vinyl exclusive)

You May Also Like

Design Your Universe (Gold Edition) Limited Picture Disc Vinyl LP
by Epica

Release Date: 04 October 2019
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: Nuclear Blast

DESIGN YOUR UNIVERSE Limited Grey With White/Black Splattered Vinyl LP
by Epica

Release Date: 11 January 2019
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: Back On Black

THE SOLACE SYSTEM Limited White With Purple/Black Splattered Vinyl LP
by Epica

Release Date: 11 January 2019
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Back On Black

Epica vs. Attack On Titan Songs Limited Gatefold Vinyl LP
by Epica

Release Date: 20 July 2018
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Nuclear Blast Records