skip to main content

Solstice Limited Vinyl LP

by Luther Dickinson & Sisters of the Strawberry Moon

Release Date: 22 March 2019

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: New West Records


Luther Dickinson & Sisters of the Strawberry Moon Solstice Limited Vinyl LP


The stars aligned and the strawberry moon coincided with the 2016 summer solstice. Our recording session felt like a pot-luck dinner - a group of interesting new friends convened and marveled at what was brought to the table. "Oh, a gut-string banjo and a clarinet? Check out this Mississippi bamboo cane fife and funky beats. Is it ok if I sing this harmony? Wow, listen to how our voices blend together..."The music came together and flowed organically, as did the band name. The Sisters of the Strawberry Moon passed the mic, family style, backing each other up with sympathy and empathy, enjoying their new found chemistry. With instruments as ingredients and songs as recipes, the Sisters of the Strawberry Moon stirred up lovely new concoctions as well as fresh interpreta-tions of family heirloom songs we hold dear. We believe music is a celebration of life and folk music an expression of community and family, and Solstice is an artifact of our new friendship and musical fellowship. - Luther Dickinson (December 3, 2018)

Featured Tracks:

1. Superlover (Feat. Birds of Chicago)
2. Fly With Me (Feat. Sharde Thomas)
3. Hallelujah (I'm a Dreamer) [feat. Amy LaVere]
4. Like a Songbird That Has Fallen (Feat. Amy Helm)
5. Kathy (Feat. Birds of Chicago)
6. Hold to His Hand (Feat. The Como Mamas)
7. The Night Is Still Young (Feat. Amy LaVere)
8. Sing to Me (Feat. Amy Helm)
9. We Made It (Feat. Sharde Thomas)
10. Cricket (At Night I Can Fly) [feat. Amy LaVere]
11. Till It's Gone (Feat. Birds of Chicago)
12. Search Me (Feat. The Como Mamas)