skip to main content

VERSUS Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set


Release Date: 16 September 2016

Format: LP Double Vinyl


£18.99 £11.99

PG.LOST VERSUS Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set

pg.lost have announced details of their upcoming album, titled "Versus", which will be released this September via Pelagic Records. The Swedish four piece wrote a lot of the album separately, swapping ideas online, before coming together to record at their newly purchased recording studio. The album title "Versus“ emerged out of a song idea, that consisted of two very different and contrasting ideas, which were never planned to be one song, but ended up complementing each other. Versus doesn't necessarily describe a relationship between irreconcilable entities, the band explain. Gustav Almberg comments: "It is possible that some things that on the surface seem totally different could be a perfect match. But mostly the album title is a reflection of today's society that seems to get more and more polarised. Boundaries of what is okay to say and do are constantly moved towards something that feels dehumanising, and all the fucked up idiots crawl out of their caves all the way up to the top of the mountain." Whilst some elements of the album will be familiar to pg.lost fans, there are some distinct differences to previous releases. The effect-saturated vocals, which were a trademark on previous pg.lost releases, have disappeared on "Versus", and given way to more keys and synths. "Kristian was in the middle of heavy touring with Cult of Luna playing keys every day during that time, so he had a lot of synth-based ideas for songs. I guess this has helped us to take the band into a bit of a new direction sound wise", comments Almberg. Their sound is throbbing with great melancholy, but there is also an element of dirty rock n' roll thrown in, as demonstrated in the crushingly heavy closing section of monumental opening track "Ikaros", in the distorted bass line kicking off the second track of the album, "Off The Beaten Path", or in the huge roomy drum sound throughout the record.

Featured Tracks:
1. Ikaros
2. Off The Beaten Path
3. Monolith
4. Versus
5. Deserter
6. Along The Edges
7. A Final Vision