skip to main content

VŠermin Limited 180gram Vinyl LP

by Tara Nome Doyle

Release Date: 28 January 2022

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Modern


Tara Nome Doyle Væermin Limited 180gram Vinyl LP


Tara Nome Doyle is a 24-year old singer-songwriter with Norwegian-Irish roots. In April 2018 her first release, the song Down with You came out. Since then it has been streamed more than four million times. More singles and an EP called Dandelion followed. In January 2020 her debut album Alchemy was celebrated by the German press (“… like Kate Bush singing songs by Nick Cave at Berghain”, SPIEGEL). TND’s second album, Værmin, will be released in January 2022 on Modern Recordings. The album was produced by Simon Goff, a Grammy- award winning producer (for his work for Hildur Guðnadóttir’s Chernobyl score), violinist and engineer.

TND likes to collaborate: In spring 2021 she co-wrote an original song with Isobel Waller-Bridge (Fleabag) for the upcoming Netflix feature film Munich - The Edge Of War. In July 2021 the EP The Moments We Keep, which she co-wrote and co-produced with the Italian pianist Federico Albanese, came out on Mercury KX. In late 2020 TND released recordings with Malakoff Kowalski (Bad Dreams) and 1k Flowers (Clemency). TND has also collaborated twice with Max Rieger (Die Nerven; producer of e.g. Caspar and Drangsal).

On Væermin TND tells a tragic love story, rich in symbolism and nuances, orchestrated with piano, violin and synthesizer and sometimes pulsating beats – and with singing that is both intense and varied, sometimes angelic, sometimes rough and threatening. Væermin is touchingly beautiful – and yet it also celebrates the supposed ugliness that lives in all of us and that we like to suppress and ignore. All songs are named after animals that are considered undesirable pests: leeches, caterpillars, snails and worms. Væermin celebrates their beauty and thus also asks a political question: What would happen if we welcomed these vermin instead of rejecting them? Wouldn't we then arrive at a much richer, balanced relationship with ourselves, to a more differentiated relationship to the world around us and to other people?

Værmin is a grand, wise, deeply moving album. And the songs get stuck in your head immediately, pulling you into their depths: existential music by an extraordinary artist.

Featured Tracks:

1. Leeches I
2. Caterpillar
3. Snail I
4. Snail II
5. Mosquito
6. Crow
7. Moth
8. Spider
9. Worms
10. Leeches II
11. Vermin
12. +
13. Vær min