skip to main content

Unearthed Limited 180gram Vinyl 9LP Box Set

by Johnny Cash

Release Date: 24 November 2017

Format: Boxed Set Vinyl

Label: UMC

£249.99 £234.56

Johnny Cash Unearthed Limited 180gram Vinyl 9LP Box Set

To celebrate the Man in Blackís enduring and influential legacy, American Recordings and UMe have reconfigured this monolithic collection for its first-ever vinyl release, spreading Unearthedís 79 songs over nine high-quality 180-gram vinyl LPs while expanding the original box's distinctive packaging for the long-playing format. The Unearthed vinyl box features a pair of cloth-bound books housed in an LP-sized black cloth slipcase. One book holds the nine LPs, while the other is a gorgeous 60-page coffee table book that incorporates Sylvie Simmons' extensive liner notes, drawn from five days of interviews at Cash's home in Tennessee, as well as Cash and Rubin's comments on every song on the set, plus a copious selection of photographs from the recording sessions, including some of the last photos ever taken of Cash. Unearthed is divided into five thematic sections. Who's Gonna Cry focuses on acoustic solo recordings, and finds Cash revisiting several classic songs from his legendary catalog. Trouble In Mind is oriented towards electric performances, and includes guest appearances by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, Carl Perkins and members of the Red Hot Chili Peppers, as well as Cash's wife and longtime duet partner June Carter Cash. Redemption Songs is largely acoustic, and features duets with Joe Strummer, Fiona Apple, Nick Cave and Glen Campbell. My Mother's Hymn Book demonstrates Cash's lifelong affinity for gospel music, encompassing 15 time-honored gospel standards. Best of Cash On American offers a memorable 15-song selection of highlights from Cash's first four albums with Rubin.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Long Black Veil
2. Flesh And Blood
3. Just The Other Side Of Nowhere
4. If I Give My Soul
5. Understand Your Man
6. Banks Of The Ohio
7. Two Timin' Woman
8. The Caretaker
9. Old Chunk Of Coal
10. I'm Going To Memphis

Disc: 2
1. Breaking Bread
2. Waiting For A Train
3. Casey's Last Ride
4. No Earthly Good
5. The Fourth Man In The Fire
6. Dark As A Dungeon
7. Book Review
8. Down There By The Train

Disc: 3
1. Pocahontas
2. I'm A Drifter
3. Trouble In Mind
4. Down The Line
5. I'm Movin' On
6. As Long As The Grass Shall Grow
7. Heart Of Gold
8. The Running Kind - Johnny Cash, Tom Petty

Disc: 4
1. Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby
2. Brown Eyed Handsome Man - Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins
3. "T" For Texas
4. Devil's Right Hand
5. I'm A Drifter
6. Like A Soldier - Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson
7. Drive On
8. Bird On A Wire

Disc: 5
1. A Singer Of Songs
2. The L & N Don't Stop Here Anymore
3. Redemption Song - Johnny Cash, Joe Strummer
4. Father And Son - Johnny Cash, Fiona Apple
5. Chattanooga Sugar Babe
6. He Stopped Loving Her Today
7. Hard Times
8. Wichita Lineman

Disc: 6
1. Cindy - Johnny Cash, Nick Cave
2. Big Iron
3. Salty Dog
4. Gentle On My Mind - Johnny Cash, Glen Campbell
5. You Are My Sunshine
6. You'll Never Walk Alone
7. The Man Comes Around

Disc: 7
1. Where We'll Never Grow Old
2. I Shall Not Be Moved
3. I Am A Pilgrim
4. Do Lord
5. When The Roll Is Called Up Yonder
6. If We Never Meet Again This Side Of Heaven
7. I'll Fly Away
8. Where The Soul Of Man Never Dies
9. Let The Lower Lights Be Burning
10. When He Reached Down
11. In The Sweet By And By
12. I'm Bound For The Promised Land
13. In The Garden
14. Softly And Tenderly
15. Just As I Am

Disc: 8
1. Delia's Gone
2. Bird On A Wire
3. Thirteen
4. Rowboat
5. The One Rose (That's Left In My Heart)
6. Rusty Cage
7. Southern Accents
8. The Mercy Seat

Disc: 9
1. Solitary Man
2. Wayfaring Stranger
3. One
4. I Hung My Head
5. The Man Comes Around
6. We'll Meet Again
7. Hurt

You May Also Like

Complete Mercury Albums 1986-1991 Limited Vinyl 7LP Box Set
by Johnny Cash

Release Date: 26 June 2020
Format: Box Set Vinyl
Label: UMC / Mercury

Water From The Wells Of Home Limited 180gram Vinyl LP
by Johnny Cash

Release Date: 26 June 2020
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: UMC / Mercury

Johnny Cash Is Coming To Town Limited 180gram Vinyl LP
by Johnny Cash

Release Date: 26 June 2020
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: UMC / Mercury