skip to main content

Tuscaloosa (Live) Limited Vinyl 2LP Set + Etching


Release Date: 07 June 2019

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: WB


Neil Young & Stray Gators Tuscaloosa (Live) Limited Vinyl 2LP Set + Etching


Neil Young will release TUSCALOOSA, from his ongoing live archival series, on June 7th. The previously unreleased, 11-track recording features Neil Young with The Stray Gators recorded live at the University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa on February 5th,1973. The album can be pre-ordered beginning today and is available on vinyl, CD and digitally. A very limited edition bundle will also be available through NYA only and will contain the album along with a Joel Bernstein autographed color litho print of the band live on stage.

During 1971 – 1973, between solo shows and dates with Crazy Horse, Young would switch up his sound to suit the material he would focus on when touring with The Stray Gators. Comprised of Tim Drummond (bass), Kenny Buttrey (drums), Jack Nitzsche (piano) and Ben Keith (steel guitar) this lineup, most notably, would go onto record Harvest and Times Fades Away. Tuscaloosa features live versions of songs from Young’s self-titled 1969 debut (“Here We Are In The Years”) plus classic songs from his two most commercially successful album of his early career, After The Goldrush (1970) and Harvest (1972).

The album also contains a stunning version of the title track from the live album Time Fades Away that would not surface until later in 1973, as well as songs from the seminal classic Tonight’s The Night that would eventually be released in 1975.

Featured Tracks:

Side: 1

1. Here We Are in the Years (Live)
2. After the Gold Rush (Live)
3. Out on the Weekend (Live)
4. Harvest (Live)

Side: 2

1. Old Man (Live)
2. Heart of Gold (Live)
3. Time Fades Away (Live)
4. Lookout Joe (Live)

Side: 3

1. New Mama (Live)
2. Alabama (Live)
3. Don't Be Denied (Live)

Side 4: