skip to main content

The Man From Mo Wax Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

by Various Artists

Release Date: 31 August 2018

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Universal


Various Artists The Man From Mo Wax Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

Soundtrack album to the forthcoming documentary The Man from Mo’ Wax that charts the life of pioneering UK electronic/trip-hop figure James Lavelle, whose presence in the scene as a DJ, producer and label head remains pivotal today, nearly three decades into his career. The soundtrack features tracks from the film that chart the life of Lavelle + his label Mo’ Wax including: - artists that inspired him to create Mo’ Wax such as Hiroshi + Kudo, Zimbabwe Legit, Marie 'Queenie' Lyons + The Wild Bunch - trip-hop classics from Mo’ Wax by DJ Shadow, La Funk Mob, Attica Blues, Dr. Octagon, DJ Krush + RPM - essential Lavelle productions/co-writes with Thom Yorke, Ian Brown + Queens of the Stone Age The film features interviews with DJ Shadow, Joshua Homme of Queens of the Stone Age, Massive Attack’s Robert Del Naja (3D), Ian Brown, Futura, Thom Yorke and Grandmaster Flash who help tell the remarkable story of one of the most enigmatic yet influential figures in contemporary British culture. Unearthed from over 700 hours of footage including his exclusive personal archive spanning three decades, The Man from Mo’ Wax is an exhilarating, no holds-barred ride through Lavelle’s career highs and lows.

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal & Charles Dutoit - Holst: The Planets, Op.32 - 2. Venus, the Bringer of Peace (edit)
2. Zimbabwe Legit - Doin' Damage in My Native Language (Shadow's legitimate remix)
3. Marie 'Queenie' Lyons - See and Don't See
4. The Wild Bunch - Friends & Countrymen
5. RPM - Food of My De - Rhythm
6. Hioshi Fujiwara + KUDO featuring DJ MILO - Return of The Original Art Form (D.J mix)
7. La Funk Mob - Ravers Suck Our Sound and Get Fuck
8. Attica Blues - Contemplating Jazz
9. Dr. Octagon - Blue Flowers
10. DJ Krush - Kemuri

Disc: 2
1. UNKLE - Back and Forth
2. DJ Shadow - What Does Your Soul Look Like (part 3)
3. RPM - Flow
4. DJ Shadow - Organ Donor (extended overhaul)
5. UNKLE featuring Thom Yorke - Rabbit In Your Headlights
6. Blackalicious - Swan Lake
7. UNKLE featuring Ian Brown - Reign
8. Queens Of The Stone Age - ... Like Clockwork
9. DJ Shadow - What Does Your Soul Look Like (part 1)

You May Also Like

Restoration: The Songs Of Elton John And Bernie Taupin Limited 2LP Set
by Various Artists

Release Date: 22 February 2019
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: Decca

£19.99 £11.99

Gary Crowley's : Lost 80s Limited Coloured 180gram Vinyl 3LP Set
by Various Artists

Release Date: 15 February 2019
Format: LP Triple Vinyl
Label: Demon Records

£32.99 £24.99

Reggae Mandela Limited Vinyl LP
by Various Artists

Release Date: 08 February 2019
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: VP Records