skip to main content

The Capitol Studios Sessions Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

by Jeff Goldblum & The Mildred Snitzer Orchestra

Release Date: 09 November 2018

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Decca


Jeff Goldblum & The Mildred Snitzer Orchestra The Capitol Studios Sessions Limited Vinyl 2LP Set


‘The Capitol Studios Sessions’ is the highly anticipated album from Jeff Goldblum & The Mildred Snitzer Orchestra. Goldblum, who has been playing the piano since he was a child, has performed with his jazz band at venues in Los Angeles and New York City over the past few decades. When he’s not filming, the actor hosts a weekly jazz variety show at LA’s Rockwell Table and Stage. Frequented by locals and A-listers alike, the show intersperses Goldblum’s love of jazz with his passion and skills at improvised comedy. The atmosphere and energy of these shows is captured perfectly on this album, which Jeff credits to producer Larry Klein (Joni Mitchell, Herbie Hancock, Madeleine Peyroux). For the recording, Larry recreated the buzz of The Rockwell at the legendary Capitol Studios. The studio was transformed into a jazz club – food and drink was served to an invited live studio audience of Rockwell regulars, friends and family. The repertoire includes favourite ‘60s jazz numbers ‘Cantaloupe Island’ and ’I Wish I Knew (How It Would Feel To Be Free)’, the 1940s classic ‘Straighten Up & Fly Right’ with guest vocals from Irish superstar singer and songwriter Imelda May, ‘My Baby Just Cares For Me’ from 1930, featuring American songstress Haley Reinhart and the 1920s song ’Me And My Shadow’ sung by US comedian and actress, Sarah Silverman. The band are joined by the extraordinary Grammy-nominated trumpeter Till Brönner. 

Featured Tracks:

1. Cantaloupe Island
2. Don’t Mess With Mister T (feat. Till Bronner)
3. My Baby Just Cares For Me (feat. Haley Reinhart & Till Bronner)
4. Straighten Up And Fly Right (feat. Imelda May & Till Bronner)
5. Jeff Introduces Sarah Silverman (feat. Sarah Silverman)
6. Me and My Shadow (feat. Sarah Silverman & Till Bronner)
7. Nostalgia In Times Square
8. It Never Entered My Mind (feat. Till Bronner)
9. Gee Baby (Aint I Good To You) feat. Haley Reinhart)
10. I Wish I Knew (How It Would Feel To Be Free)
11. This Bitter Earth
12. Come On-A-My House (feat. Imelda May & Till Bronner)
13. Caravan (feat Till Bronner)
14. Good Nights

You May Also Like