skip to main content

The Blues And The Abstract Truth (1961) Limited Deluxe180gram Vinyl LP

by Oliver Nelson

Release Date: 25 June 2021

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Verve


Out of stock

Add to Wish List

Oliver Nelson The Blues And The Abstract Truth (1961) Limited Deluxe Gatefold 180gram Vinyl LP


Blues And The Abstract Truth is Oliver Nelson’s triumph. Featuring his all-time classic ‘Stolen Moments’, Nelson assembled one of the most potent modern jazz sextets ever. Lead trumpeter Freddie Hubbard is at his peak of performance, while alto saxophonists Nelson and Eric Dolphy (Nelson doubling on tenor) team to form an unlikely union that was simmered to perfection. Bill Evans (piano), Paul Chambers (bass) and Roy Haynes (drums) can do no wrong as a rhythm section. Verve’s Acoustic Sounds Series features transfers from analog tapes and remastered 180-gram vinyl in deluxe gatefold packaging.

Featured Tracks:

A1 Stolen Moments 8:45
A2 Hoe Down 4:43
A3 Cascades 5:30

B1 Yearnin' 6:20
B2 Butch And Butch 4:35
B3 Teenie's Blues 6:31

You May Also Like

Screamin' The Blues Limited Reissue 180gram Vinyl LP + MP3
by Oliver Nelson

Release Date: 19 May 2014
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Concord