skip to main content

SOUL MINING 30TH ANNIVERSARY Limited Deluxe 2LP Vinyl Box Set

by The The

Release Date: 30 June 2014

Format: Boxed Set Vinyl

Label: Sony

£39.99 £29.99

Out of stock

Add to Wish List

The The SOUL MINING 30TH ANNIVERSARY Limited Deluxe 2LP Vinyl Box Set

Sony Music is proud to release ‘Soul Mining 2LP 30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition’, a re-mastered, re-packed and expanded version of The The’s major label debut album, originally released in 1983. Remastering from the original tapes was overseen by Matt Johnson at Abbey Road, and the lavish vinyl only boxset contains an authentic reproduction of the original seminal album on 180g vinyl, plus an extra 12” vinyl (titled ‘Soul Mining Recollected) of alternative versions and remixes, itself housed in a gatefold displaying digitally restored artwork for the single covers of Uncertain Smile, Perfect, and This Is The Day.

The Soul Mining boxset also includes a unique ‘news-poster’ containing extensive notes written by Johnson that detail the making of the album. The re-mastered audio has also been dubbed from new vinyl test pressings recorded from Matt Johnson’s original 1982 Thorens TD-147 gramophone player using patent ‘Dubbed-From-Disc’ technology, obtainable via a download code contained within the boxset.
The release has been designed and curated in conjunction with Matt Johnson, and thus is loyal to his original track listing with ‘Perfect’ absent from the main album, but included within the second vinyl, which also contains alternate versions of other album tracks, and remixes. For the first time in over 15 years, Matt is undertaking promo activity for the release, including high level press and radio interviews, and a number of appearances at special events promoting the boxset.

Featured Tracks:
1. I’ve Been Waitin’ For Tomorrow (All Of My Life)
2. This Is The Day
3. The Sinking Feeling
4. Uncertain Smile
5. The Twilight Hour
6. Soul Mining
7. Giant
1. Uncertain Smile (New York 12” version)
2. Perfect (New York 12” version)
3. This Is The Day (12” version)
4. Fruit Of The Heart
5. Perfect (London 12” version)
6. I’ve Been Waitin’ For Tomorrow (All My Life)
(12” mix)