skip to main content

Sean Rowley Presents Guilty Pleasures 20th Anniversary 2LP Set

by Sean Rowley

Release Date: 02 February 2024

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Demon Records


Sean Rowley Presents Guilty Pleasures 20th Anniversary 2LP Set


To mark the twentieth anniversary of its original release, Demon Music are proud to present 'Sean Rowley Presents Guilty Pleasures’, available as a 29 track 2LP highlights collection ('The Blue Album'). This will be the first time that this hugely popular compilation has been available on vinyl, "the format that these songs were intended to be heard on", according to Sean.
At the start of the new millennium Sean Rowley was a DJ on BBC Radio London (then called GLR), when he introduced a new slot featuring the records he loved in his youth. Records he had to hide when friends visited his home after school. While those same friends were into Bowie, Slade, Bolan and Roxy, Sean spent his hard-earned pocket money on David Cassidy's 'Could It Be Forever'. He wasn’t into the alternative universe of John Peel or the NME. He thrived on upbeat and sunny Pop songs. ELO trumped The Sex Pistols in his world (uncanny given Paul Cooke from the Pistols later blagged a copy of the original 'Guilty Pleasures' compilation, saying, “We always secretly loved these songs").
This new slot began with the playing of Alessi's 'Oh, Lori'. The response was extraordinary - listeners were so keen to share their own guilty pleasures that playing them all required a show of its own. Demand dictated that Sean should compile a 'Guilty Pleasures' album - the first of two titles followed in 2004 (all 22 of the tracks on that original release are included on both of our new formats).
The phrase 'guilty pleasures' moved into the public domain. National newspapers devoted columns to it, music magazines gave over numerous pages to discuss the best songs in this new sub-genre. The Guardian declared a 'Guilty Pleasures' night "the future of clubbing". ITV came calling with a demand to make a one-off Saturday TV show.
Fast forward twenty years and Sean has partnered with Demon to make 'Guilty Pleasures' available on vinyl for the very first time, and expanded the guilt over four themed CDs adding deep cuts, one-hit wonders and exotic recordings that perfectly soundtracked a sun-kissed '70s U.S. west coast life style, less so in '70s Britain.
Welcome to a '70s Pop odyssey. Welcome to a collection of records that were swept under the carpet of cool.
Welcome back, Guilty Pleasures.

Featured Tracks:

A1. Alessi Brothers - Oh Lori
A2. Captain and Tennille - Love Will Keep Us Together
A3. Pilot - January
A4. Electric Light Orchestra - Sweet Talkin’ Woman
A5. Climax Blues Band - Couldn’t Get It Right
A6. Ace - How Long
A7. Billy Swan - I Can Help
B7. When The Show's Over

B1. The Fortunes - Storm In A Teacup
B2. David Essex - Gonna Make You a Star
B3. Sherbet - Howzat
B7. Andrew Gold - Never Let Her Slip Away
B6. 10cc - The Things We Do For Love
B5. Marshall Hain - Dancing In The City
B4. Carole Bayer Sager - Moving Out Today

C1. Peter Skellern - Hold On To Love
C2. Gallagher & Lyle - I Wanna Stay With You
C3. Andy Kim - Rock Me Gently
C4. Jim Gilstrap - Swing Your Daddy
C5. Brian Protheroe - Pinball
C6. Helen Reddy - Angie Baby
C7. Andrew Fairweather-Low - Wide Eyed & Legless
C8. Colin Blunstone - Say You Don’t Mind
D5. Charlie Dore - Pilot Of The Airwaves

D1. Starland Vocal Band - Afternoon Delight
D2. Liverpool Express - You Are My Love
D3. Lynsey De Paul - Sugar Me
D7. Clout - Let It Grow
D4. Rupert Holmes - Him
D6. Eric Carmen - She Did It