skip to main content

Rusty Egan Presents… Blitzed! Limited Vinyl 4LP Box Set

by Various Artists

Release Date: 28 June 2024

Format: Box Set Vinyl

Label: Demon Records


Various Artists Rusty Egan Presents… Blitzed! Limited Vinyl 4LP Box Set


London, 1979. From the rubble and ashes of punk a new youth cult was emerging. Divinely inspired by Bowie, Roxy Music and Kraftwerk, a new tribe the press started labelling New Romantics, or Futurists, discarded punk’s old-hat claims towards authenticity and protest, in pursuit of glamour, make-up, dressing up and dancing. Their home was The Blitz Club, a tiny wine bar at the edge of Covent Garden and what went on there between 1979 and 1980 would genuinely change the world. The other name for this cult? Blitz Kids.

Without necessarily knowing it, The Blitz was birthing the next wave of British pop stars. A young Boy George ran the cloakroom, its host and doorman was a young Steve Strange, soon-to-be the frontman of Visage, Spandau Ballet played their first gig there and on a given night you might find yourself dancing next to a member of Ultravox. Fashion designers in Regency ballgowns mingled with secretaries in rubber, post boys dressed as Biggles danced next to art school kids dressed as Pierrot. David Bowie assembled his extras for the ‘Ashes To Ashes’ video from the Blitz kids. Mick Jagger was refused entry. Too square.

And the club had a mighty soundtrack, assembled painstakingly by its resident DJ Rusty Egan. Rusty’s sets brought together heroes like Eno, Iggy, and Lou Reed cool European electronic pioneers like Kraftwerk, Telex and Yello, the electronic side of disco (Cerrone, Hot Chocolate, Amanda Lear) and cutting-edge film soundtracks from the likes of Vangelis, Giorgio Moroder and Barry De Vorzon. Rusty also span the nascent sounds of Britian’s next new wave – Japan, Landscape, the Human League, Visage, Ultravox, Fad Gadget…

Compiled exhaustively from his DJ sets, ‘Rusty Egan Presents The Blitz’ brings together the sounds of a night at the club circa 1980 on either 66 track 4CD or 36 track 4LP sets. Beautifully presented with contemporary photography from Sheila Rock, Peter Ashworth and Terry Smith, the booklets also contain sleeve notes from Alexis Petridis and Rusty himself.

Featured Tracks:

Disc: 1

1 Being Boiled (Fast Product Version) - The Human League
2 Down in the Park - Tubeway Army
3 Back to Nature - Fad Gadget
4 New Girls Neutrons - Vice Versa
5 Hot On the Heels of Love - Throbbing Gristle
6 Warm Leatherette - The Normal
7 Nag Nag Nag - Cabaret Voltaire
8 Burning Car - John Foxx
9 Electricity (Dindisc 1980 Version) - Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark
10 R.E.R.B. - Shock

Disc: 2

1 Hiroshima Mon Amour - Ultravox
2 Permafrost - Magazine
3 Put Your Love in Me - Hot Chocolate
4 Moon Over Moscow - Visage
5 The Number One Song in Heaven (Long Version) - Sparks
6 Makes You Blind - The Glitter Band
7 7 Teen - The Regents
8 Angel Eyes (Extended Remix) - Roxy Music

Disc: 3

1 I Don't Depend On You - The Men
2 Theme from 'The Warriors' - Barry De Vorzon
3 Willie and the Hand Jive (12" Version) - Rinder & Lewis
4 La Vie En Rose - Grace Jones
5 Schaufensterpuppen - Kraftwerk
6 Passing Strangers - Ultravox
7 Nightclubbing - Iggy Pop
8 No G.D.M. - Gina X Performance

Disc: 4

1 Only After Dark - Mick Ronson
2 Changeling - Simple Minds
3 Animation (Edit) - Skids
4 Life in Tokyo (1979 Single Version) - Japan
5 Follow Me - Amanda Lear
6 To Cut a Long Story Short - Spandau Ballet
7 Bostich - Yello
8 Chase (From 'Midnight Express') - Giorgio Moroder
9 Fade to Grey (1980 Dance Mix) - Visage
10 Perfect Day - Lou Reed

You May Also Like

80S POP STARS COLLECTED Limited Red&Silver 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set
by Various Artists

Release Date: 28 June 2024
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: Music On Vinyl

60s Soul Classics Limited Vinyl 2LP Set
by Various Artists

Release Date: 21 June 2024
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: UMC

NOW – Millennium 2006-2007 Limited Coloured Vinyl 2LP Set
by Various Artists

Release Date: 14 June 2024
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: NOW

NOW – Yearbook 1980-1984: Vinyl Extra Vol.2 Limited Coloured 5LP Box
by Various Artists

Release Date: 14 June 2024
Format: Box Set Vinyl
Label: NOW