skip to main content

Rubberband Limited 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set


Release Date: 06 September 2019

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Rhino


Miles Davis Rubberband Limited 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set


Miles Davis shocked the music world in 1985 when he left Columbia Records after 30 years to join Warner Bros. Records. In October of that year, he began recording the album Rubberband in Los Angeles at Ameraycan Studios with producers Randy Hall and Zane Giles. The musical direction Davis was taking during the sessions marked a radical departure, with the inclusion of funk and soul grooves; with plans to feature guest vocalists Al Jarreau and Chaka Khan. Eventually, the album was shelved and Davis went on to record Tutu, leaving the Rubberband songs unheard and untouched for over 30 years.

Davis’ fans finally got a taste of the iconic trumpeter’s long-lost album last year with the release of a four-song Rubberband EP for Record Store Day, which is also available digitally. Now Rhino is excited to announce that the entire 11-song Rubberband album will make its debut on September 6 on CD, LP, and digitally. It was finished by the original producers Hall and Giles; with Davis’ nephew, Vince Wilburn, Jr., who played drums on the original sessions for the album in 1985-86. The track titled “Rubberband Of Life,” featuring Ledisi, is available now digitally. The cover art for the album is a Davis original painting from the time.

“Uncle Miles would be proud. Randy, Zane and I, and everyone involved, put our heart and soul into ‘The Rubberband Of Life,’” says Wilburn, Jr.

In 2017 – 32 years after Davis started recording Rubberband– Hall, Giles, and – and Davis’ nephew, Wilburn, Jr., began work to finish the album. The final version includes several guest artists including singers Ledisi (a 12-time Grammy nominee) and Lalah Hathaway (daughter of soul legend Donny Hathaway).

Davis – who plays both trumpet and keyboards on the album – was joined in the studio by keyboardists Adam Holzman, Neil Larsen and Wayne Linsey; percussionist Steve Reid; saxophonist Glen Burris; and Wilburn, Jr. on drums. The sessions were engineered by Grammy®-winner Reggie Dozier, whose brother Lamont Dozier was part of the legendary Motown song writing team Holland-Dozier-Holland.

Featured Tracks:

1. Rubberband of Life – featuring Ledisi
2. This Is It
3. Paradise – featuring Medina Johnson
4. So Emotional – featuring Lalah Hathaway
5. Give It Up
6. Maze
7. Carnival Time
8. I Love What We Make Together – featuring Randy Hall
9. See I See
10. Echoes In Time/The Wrinkle
11. Rubberband

You May Also Like

The Legendary Prestige Quintet Sessions Limited Vinyl 6LP Box Set

Release Date: 08 November 2019
Format: Box Set Vinyl
Label: Craft Recordings


Paradise Limited 7" Vinyl Single

Release Date: 09 August 2019
Format: 7inch Vinyl Single
Label: Warners/Rhino

FILLES DE KILIMANJARO Limited 180gram Audiophile Vinyl LP

Release Date: 28 June 2019
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Music On Vinyl

Milestones Limited Reissue Vinyl LP

Release Date: 10 May 2019
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Dreyfus Jazz