skip to main content

Regions Limited Vinyl LP

by Ellis Island Sound

Release Date: 07 April 2014

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Village Green


Ellis Island Sound Regions Limited Vinyl LP

· Ellis Island Sound are Pete Astor (The Loft, Weather Prophets, Wisdom Of Harry) and David Sheppard (State River Widening, Snow Palms).
· ‘Regions’ is the duo’s third album since their inception and it has already been described as “Afro-Krautrock” and “Teutonic High Life”.
· It is possible to detect the influence of Jean Bosco
Mwende or King Sunny Ade’s guitars, along with polyrhythmic ensemble force of Fela Kuti’s Africa 70 and T-Funk-period Talking Heads.
· Sometime Radiohead collaborator John Matthias adds vocals to five tracks, coming on like an opiated James Brown channelling Damo Suzuki.

Featured Tracks:
Nairobi / Koln
So Much Water Close To Home
Intro, Airborne, Travelling
We Do Not
Offices At Night
Floating Home
The Letting Go
Herr Ya Ya
Schwitters In Lakeland
Worlds Ahead
Ubu Goes To Town