skip to main content

Please Excuse Me For Being Antisocial Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

by Roddy Ricch

Release Date: 24 July 2020

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Atlantic


Roddy Ricch Please Excuse Me For Being Antisocial Limited Vinyl 2LP Set


Whether it be the phrases engraved in the sidewalk or graffiti tagged on the walls, the concrete emulates the pulse of any hood in America. Those stone-cold expressions ring out as warnings, epitaphs, and tributes to the streets.
When Roddy Ricch raps and sings, his words carry the same weight, cauterizing pain as poetry. That’s how the 21-year-old Compton native turned caustic confessions such as “Die Young” and “Every Season” into RIAA platinum hits within one year since the arrival of his 2018 breakout mixtape Feed tha Streets II. That’s how he racked up over 1 billion total streams across his own output and blockbuster collaborations such as “Project Dreams” with Marshmello, the late Nipsey Hussle’s “Racks in the Middle” also featuring Hit-Boy, Meek Mill’s “Splash Warning” accompanied by Future and Young Thug, and the multiplatinum remix of “wow.” alongside Post Malone and Tyga. That’s how he ended up nominated for “Best New Hip Hop Artist” and “Best Mixtape” at the 2019 BET Hip-Hop Awards, wound up on the cover of XXL as part of the coveted Freshman Class, and graced “Artist To Watch” lists by Amazon Music, Billboard, and BBC 1Xtra. That’s how he emerged as the talk of Made In America Festival and Spotify’s Rap Caviar Show during the Final Four Tournament.
Acclaimed by everyone from Pitchfork to The Fader, he offers a perspective from inside and outside of the hood on a string of projects slated for 2019 and beyond.
“I’ve learned you sometimes just have to take a step outside of yourself in order to evaluate who you really are as a person,” he exclaims. “I most definitely do that these days. I’m not only looking at myself from the inside; I’m looking from above as well to see where I can eventually go in my music.”
Roddy’s experience covers all angles as well. Born and raised in the heart of Los Angeles, he grew up between his mom’s place in South Central and grandparents’ house in Compton before adopting the New Wilmington Arms projects as a second home during high school. After his mom’s second re-marriage, he started “getting into trouble” and would be kicked out at 16-years-old. He spent a few months with dad in San Diego before returning home, because “you can’t really do music in San Diego.” Following a year in private school where he studied the work of Shakespeare and completed a rigorous English and Fine Arts curriculum, a fistfight with his stepdad caused an irreparable rift.
So, Roddy moved out on his own.

Featured Tracks:

Side: 1

1. Intro
2. The Box
3. Start Wit Me (feat. Gunna)
4. Perfect Time

Side: 2

1. Moonwalkin (feat. Lil Durk)
2. Big Stepper
3. Gods Eyes
4. Peta (feat. Meek Mill)

Side: 3

1. Boom Boom Room
2. Elyse's Skit
3. High Fashion (feat. Mustard)
4. Bacc Seat (feat. Ty Dolla $ign)

Side: 4

1. Roll Dice
2. Prayers To The Trap God
3. Tip Toe (feat. A Boogie Wit da Hoodie)
4. War Baby