skip to main content

OUROBOROS Limited Green Vinyl LP


Release Date: 18 March 2016

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Rur Records

£24.99 £14.99


Welcome to the early days! Ouroboros was a private 2012 recording from psychedelic doom-bringers Ruby the Hatchet and their first full length record. Never before released on any physical format, Ruby The Hatchet and RUR Records have teamed up to offer a very limited vinyl pressing.
Recorded 3 years prior to the band's Tee Pee Records release Valley Of The Snake, Ouroboros offers insight into the band's beginnings and early sounds. It features the original line up of founding members Jillian Taylor (vocals), Johnny Scarps (guitar), Owen Stewart (drums) and Mike Parise (bass). Ouroboros was recorded at Retro City Studios in Germantown, PA by audio-engineer Joe Boldizar with assistance from Barry Knob and Sean Hur. Now a full-time member, Hur (organ) makes his debut here on “The Lean,” “Holy Father,” and “Good God Damn.”Ouroboros showcases a more straight up rock sound with blues and retro nuances. Coming off of a self-titled debut EP written mostly as a three piece (Taylor, Scarps and Stewart), Ouroboros explores the next realm for the band – playing with harmony, tone and overall style.
Ruby the Hatchet are one of heavy music’s finest on-the-rise bands. Evoking a decade’s worth of growth and maturity gained in just a few short years, the genesis from the band’s 2011 self-titled EP to present day has been nothing short of stunning. Forming after a series of New Jersey basement practices, this doomy quintet bring an organ-driven Deep Purple groove, wailing female vocal harmonies and fuzzy guitar and bass tones that are nostalgic, but not dated. Live intensity and tightness is paramount for these in-the-pocket groovers who not only write together, but live together. RTH conjure occult-flavored, evil hard rock with hypnotic and mythical lyrics for a witchy brew of ominous wild rock sounds!

Featured Tracks:
Side A
1. Taking Sides
2. Black Tongue
3. Can't Get Him Away
4. Strange Hold
5. The Lean

Side B
6. Holy Father
7. Wicked Ones
8. Nowhere
9. Good God Damn