skip to main content

NOW That's What I Call Music! NOW – Yearbook 1981 Red 3LP Set

by Various Artists

Release Date: 20 May 2022

Format: LP Triple Vinyl

Label: Now!


Out of stock

Add to Wish List

Various Artists NOW That’s What I Call Music! NOW – Yearbook 1981 Limited Translucent Red Vinyl 3LP Set


NOW Music is proud to present the newest addition to the ‘Yearbook’ series: NOW – Yearbook 1981. 3 LPs of 46 tracks that defined the charts in 1981.

Kicking off with legendary No. 1s from Queen and David Bowie (‘Under Pressure’), The Police (‘Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic’), and including No. 1’s from The Specials (‘Ghost Town’), John Lennon (‘Woman’) and Roxy Music’s cover of ‘Jealous Guy’.

1981 was a watershed year for pop with new British artists emerging from the ashes of punk and disco by way of the New Romantic movement either beginning or consolidating their chart success - including here , Duran Duran, Visage, Ultravox, Japan, Spandau Ballet and Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark – artists who would set the pop and fashion agenda over the next few years leading, for some, to global success….and including the two biggest selling singles of the year, ‘Tainted Love’ from Soft Cell, and The Human League’s ‘Don’t You Want Me’.

Pop was fresh, exciting and often, with an accompanying promo video, more theatrical and colorful than ever with Adam & The Ants’ ‘Stand And Deliver’ and ‘Prince Charming’ both featured here alongside debut chart hits for Toyah, Kim Wilde, Altered Images, Haircut 100, Tom Tom Club, Imagination and ABC… plus Bucks Fizz winning the Eurovision with a pop classic, and Shakin’ Stevens hitting No. 1 with ‘This Ole House’ makes celebrating the pop of 1981 brilliantly eclectic.

Established acts Blondie, ABBA, Olivia Newton-John, Electric Light Orchestra, Pretenders and The Who all enjoyed continued success with some of their biggest hits, and chart regulars The Jam, Madness and the more recently established UB40 went from strength to strength, as Odyssey and Earth, Wind & Fire both celebrated massive chart singles.

NOW – Yearbook 1981; celebrating an outstanding year in eclectic and creative pop. Pressed in translucent red vinyl, limited to 3,000 units.

Featured Tracks:


1. Queen & David Bowie - Under Pressure

2. The Police - Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic

3. Blondie - Rapture

4. Olivia Newton-John - Physical (Remastered)

5. Lionel Richie & Diana Ross - Endless Love (From "The Endless Love" Soundtrack)

6. Pretenders - I Go To Sleep

7. ABBA - One Of Us


1. Ultravox – Vienna

2. Visage - Fade To Grey

3. Soft Cell - Tainted Love

4. Japan - Quiet Life

5. Duran Duran - Planet Earth

6. The Human League - Don't You Want Me

7. Kim Wilde – Kids In America

8. Adam & The Ants - Stand And Deliver


1. John Lennon - Woman

2. Roxy Music - Jealous Guy

3. Hazel O'Connor - Will You?

4. Kim Carnes - Bette Davis Eyes

5. REO Speedwagon - Keep On Loving You

6. The Who - You Better You Bet

7. Electric Light Orchestra - Hold On Tight


1. The Specials - Ghost Town

2. The Jam - That's Entertainment

3. UB40 - One In Ten

4. Madness - It Must Be Love

5. Sheena Easton - For Your Eyes Only

6. Odyssey - Going Back To My Roots

7. Earth, Wind & Fire - Let's Groove

8. Imagination - Body Talk


1. Duran Duran - Girls On Film

2. Spandau Ballet - Chant No. 1 (I Don't Need This Pressure On)

3. Haircut 100 - Favourite Shirts (Boy Meets Girl)

4. ABC - Tears Are Not Enough

5. Phil Lynott - Yellow Pearl

6. Landscape - Einstein A Go-Go

7. Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark - Souvenir

8. The Passions - I'm In Love With A German Film Star


1. Adam & The Ants - Prince Charming

2. Altered Images - Happy Birthday

3. Toyah – It’s A Mystery

4. Tom Tom Club - Wordy Rappinghood

5. Bucks Fizz - Making Your Mind Up

6. Shakin' Stevens - This Ole House

7. Smokey Robinson - Being With You

8. Michael Jackson - One Day In Your Life

You May Also Like

Rusty Egan Presents… Blitzed! Limited Vinyl 4LP Box Set
by Various Artists

Release Date: 28 June 2024
Format: Box Set Vinyl
Label: Demon Records

80S POP STARS COLLECTED Limited Red&Silver 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set
by Various Artists

Release Date: 28 June 2024
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: Music On Vinyl

60s Soul Classics Limited Vinyl 2LP Set
by Various Artists

Release Date: 21 June 2024
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: UMC

NOW – Millennium 2006-2007 Limited Coloured Vinyl 2LP Set
by Various Artists

Release Date: 14 June 2024
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: NOW