skip to main content

Nocturne - The Piano Album Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

by Vangelis

Release Date: 01 February 2019

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Decca Records


Vangelis Nocturne – The Piano Album Limited Vinyl 2LP Set


Pioneering composer Vangelis is offering fans the chance to hear music from his brand new album ‘Nocturne’ before its release, by taking photos of the moon. They can upload their pictures via mobile phone to an innovative new website ( which uses visual recognition technology to unlock each new track according to its corresponding single cover image and lunar phase.

Vangelis’ new album will be released on 25th January 2019 on Decca Records and is a soothing collection of solo piano pieces, recorded in his inimitable style. There are 11 new tracks as well as brand new versions of his iconic hits including Chariots of Fire and the ‘Love Theme’ from Blade Runner. Vangelis himself records on a grand piano for the first time.

“Night gives birth to all”
– for Vangelis this verse from the Orphic hymn to the Night says it all

‘Nocturne’ is Vangelis’ first new album in two years and includes a host of new piano compositions inspired by night time and his long-held passion for space. Among the new tracks are such beautiful pieces as ‘Nocturnal Promenade’, which opens the album and is the first single, as well as ‘Through the Night Mist’, ‘Sweet Nostalgia’ and ‘Lonesome’.

Vangelis’ music is often linked to themes of science, history and exploration. Alongside his Academy Award-winning score for Chariots of Fire and his acclaimed Blade Runner music, he has written the choral symphony ‘Mythodea’ for NASA’s 2001 Mission to Mars, as well as films including Antarctica, 1492: Conquest of Paradise and Alexander. His music has also been used in the documentary series Cosmos by Carl Sagan.

Recently, Vangelis collaborated with the European Space Agency (ESA) on his 2016 album ‘Rosetta’, which was inspired by the Rosetta Mission to land a probe on a comet for the first time in history.

With millions of sales worldwide, Vangelis remains at the top of his game thanks to his masterly ability to compose stirring music that fuels the senses. But to Vangelis, music is a sacred, basic force of the universe, its purpose to elevate, inspire and to heal humankind. His new album ‘Nocturne’ aims to give listeners the chance to relax and reconnect with the world around us.

“A peerless pioneer… capable of producing enduring masterpieces” – BBC

Featured Tracks:

1. Nocturnal Promenade
2. To the unknown Man from Spiral
3. Movement Nine from Mythodea
4. Moonlight reflections
5. Through the Night Mist
6. Early Years
7. Love Theme from Blade Runner
8. Sweet Nostalgia
9. Intermezzo
10. To a Friend
11. La Petite Fille de la Mer from Apocalypse des Animaux
12. Longing
13. Chariots of Fire from Chariots of Fire
14. Unfulfilled Desire
15. Lonesome
16. 1492: Conquest of Paradise from 1492: Conquest of Paradise
17. Pour Melia

You May Also Like

GIFT Limited Gatefold 180gram Audiophile Vinyl 2LP Set
by Vangelis

Release Date: 08 December 2023
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: Music On Vinyl

DIRECT Limited Numbered Translucent Blue 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set
by Vangelis

Release Date: 12 May 2023
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: Music On Vinyl

SPIRAL Limited 180gram Audiophile Vinyl LP
by Vangelis

Release Date: 04 February 2022
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Music On Vinyl


Out of stock

Add to Wish List
no product image

Juno to Jupiter Limited Vinyl 2LP Set
by Vangelis

Release Date: 04 February 2022
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: Decca