skip to main content

London Limited Gatefold Transparent Grey/Black & White Splattered 2LP

by Voices

Release Date: 17 April 2020

Format: LP Double Vinyl



Voices London Limited Gatefold Transparent Grey/Black & White Splattered 2LP Set


Voices was formed in 2011 by David Gray, Sam Loynes, and Peter Benjamin following the break-up of Akercocke. In 2012, Voices signed with Candlelight Records. The band released its debut, From the Human Forest Create a Fugue of Imaginary Rain in 2013.

In 2014, Voices released the concept album London. The album was once again heavily influenced by a film, in this case the 1999 movie The End of the Affair by Neil Jordan. Peter Benjamin observed that, "With the second one, we thought a lot about where we wanted it to go, with the narrative as well, adding that kind of depth." He described the concept as based on the "real experiences and twisted obsessions from our dark city" that is designed to blend "an intense yet euphoric beauty" with "the terrible, the poisoned and ugliness of London life. Bitter, cold, jealous and alone."
David Gray described the concept of London as

the story of a lonely soul in a busy city and the effect it can have on your personality – human interaction or the lack thereof and the dilemmas of an impecunious pseudo hero desperate and alone. His mental illness feeds his obsession with a prostitute, an Eastern European model who dreamed of moving to London and being an actress. Their tragedies collide in the dark, wet streets of South London where sometimes suicide can be a serious option."
Available for the very first time on vinyl and mastered by Gomez (Paradise Lost, Ulver)

Featured Tracks:

1. Suicide Note
2. Music For The Recently Bereaved
3. The Actress
4. Vicarious Lover
5. Megan
6. Imaginary Sketches Of A Poisoned Man
7. The Antidote
8. The Fuck Trance
9. Hourglass
10. The House Of Black Light
11. The Final Portrait Of The Artist
12. Last Train Victoria Line
13. The Ultimate Narcissist
14. Cold Harbour Lane

You May Also Like

Frightened Limited Vinyl LP
by Voices

Release Date: 10 June 2018
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Spinefarm Records

£16.99 £9.99

Out of stock

Add to Wish List