skip to main content

John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series) LP

by John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman

Release Date: 29 April 2022

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Decca


John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series) Limited Vinyl LP


This beloved 1963 Impulse! LP is a career highlight for both Johnny Hartman and John Coltrane. Hartman was apparently Coltrane's suggestion for the recording date, and his deep, dark voice meshes perfectly here with Coltrane's tenor. The material is well-chosen, including definitive readings of 'My One and Only Love' and 'Lush Life.' McCoy Tyner fills out the chords, augmenting the harmonies and keeping the tone of these ballads respectful but not overly sentimental. All the players get to the deep structure of the songs and are not afraid to play in the most essential and elegant manner

Featured Tracks:


1. They Say It's Wonderful 5:15

2. Dedicated To You 5:27

3. My One And Only Love 4:50


1. Lush Life 5:20

2. You Are Too Beautiful 5:32

3. Autumn Serenade 4:11