skip to main content

Jazz Samba & Big Band .. Bossa Nova Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

by Stan Getz/Charlie Byrd

Release Date: 05 August 2016

Format: LP Double Vinyl



Stan Getz/Charlie Byrd Jazz Samba & Big Band .. Bossa Nova Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

2LP-set from Vinyl Passion collecting Stan Getz's two 1962 bossa nova classics, "Jazz Samba" with Charlie Byrd and "Big Band Bossa Nova". "Jazz Samba" is the ?rst true bossa nova album by jazz artists, the one that began the wave. The name Stan Getz can easily be tied to bossa nova whenever the music is being discussed in jazz circles but would audiences have ever known of bossa nova if not for Charlie Byrd? The sessions for Jazz Samba were arranged only after Byrd played records he'd gotten in Brazil for Getz. The results: a groundbreaking No. 1 album and a document of jazz history. Its follow-up "Big Band Bossa Nova rode that wave, topping out at No. 13 on the Billboard album chart in 1963. This double LP is an absolutely essential for any jazz collection.

Featured Tracks:
Jazz Samba
1. Desafinado
2. Samba Dees Days
3. O Pato
4. Samba Triste
5. Samba de Uma Nota So
6. E Luxo S6
7. Behia (aka Baia)
8. Desafinado

Big Band Bossa Nova
1. Manha De Carnival
2. Balanšo No Samba
3. Melancolico
4. Entre Amigos
5. Chega De Saudade
6. Noite Triste
7. Samba De Uma Nota So
8. Bim Bom