skip to main content

Instruments Non-Électroniques Limited Vinyl LP

by Lasry-Baschet

Release Date: 24 February 2014

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Finders Keepers Records


Lasry-Baschet Instruments Non-Électroniques Limited Vinyl LP

· A collection of the earliest recordings of the French sound sculpture musicians and Cristalists known as Structures Sonores Lasry-Baschet.
· Exploring a similar route to that of early Michel Magne recordings (and often likened to ‘a French Harry Partch’), the emotive music made with these organic, municipal, revolutionary instruments between 1957 and 1962 rode a narrow path between post-Second World War experimental music and antielectronica, before providing the world with the sound of the Granada Television Picture Box theme.
· This compilation highlights the very earliest vinyl appearances of the collective that would become known as Structures Sonores Lasry-Baschet / the Lasry-Baschet Sound Structures, including tracks from the first 1957 single for the Ducretet Thomson label, played by Jaques Lasry in his first solo ‘experimental’ capacity, entitled ‘L’Orgue De Cristal Et Les Percussions’ (complete with its pop-political, almost anti-musique concrete Instruments
‘Non-Électroniques’ disclaimer). The following selections mark the inauguration of an active relationship with the BAM label (an imprint also ironically committed to the aforementioned musique concrète movement), which marks the first of many compositions centred around both Jacques and Yvonne’s joint musical direction.
· Included in the Structures Sonores Lasry-Baschet BAM discography are two notable ballet pieces from 1959, ‘Jeux D’Ombres’ and ‘Ballet Du Soho’ (both of which can be heard on the Cacophonic dedicated ballet release ‘Danse Sacrale’), which highlight the group’s adept conceptual compositional skills for multiple creative applications. The rare soundtrack to J. Willemetz’ ‘lm L’Atomium’ (made especially for the 1958 Brussels World’s Fair) is also included here as testimony to the collective’s thematic versatility which
already flourished in these formative experimental stages.
· Many of these inclusions also feature performances from the group’s regular collaborators such as clarinet player Roger Simon (De Wolfe / Chappell), vocalist Lucie Rapp and composer / percussionists Daniel Ouzounoff and Jacques Chollet, alongside a rare piece featuring a young Teddy Lasry.
· The rare tracks from the ‘Mister Blues’ EP for Unidisc stand as the first recordings of Teddy, who at just fifteen-years-old, took over as the group’s lead clarinet player, galvanising their celebrated family run image and in turn
launching the career of a French progressive rock legend (providing bands like Magma with their signature cosmic military brass arrangements).
· Within these formative years we hear the Lasry family at their most wideeyed and vivacious. By pushing the Baschet instruments to their limits and presenting an unabashed free rhythmical approach the group embraced the fresh naked sounds in their rawest form before settling into a long-running career of concentrated melodic composition, having truly mastered their unique tools alongside a new generation of Cristalists.

Featured Tracks:
1. La Danse Du Cristal
2. Prélude Métallique
3. Toccata Toccarde
4. Invention a 2 Voix Ré Mineur
5. Moelle De Lion
6. Altitude 10000
7. Mister Blues
8. Paludisme (Part Two)
9. Rhapsodie De Budapest
10. Musique Du Film Cosmotonie
11. Paludisme (Part One)
12. Quatour Pour Trois