skip to main content

Ibibio Sound Machine Limited Vinyl LP

by Ibibio Sound Machine

Release Date: 24 February 2014

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Soundway

£16.99 £9.99

Out of stock

Add to Wish List

Ibibio Sound Machine Self Titled Limited Vinyl LP

‘Let’s Dance’ has been B-listed for the BBC 6 Music playlist. The LP comes with a free download

Ibibio Sound Machine are set to release their debut release through Soundway Records. Fronted by British / Nigerian vocalist Eno Williams, they combine elements of West African highlife, disco, post-punk & psychedelic electro soul.

From the banging sub-bass of 'Lets Dance' to the spiritual, gospel-tinged notes of the album's opening track 'Voice of the Bird', the band have turned in a dynamic and, at times, beautiful take on modern afro-soul music.

Folk stories, recounted to Eno by her family as a child in her mother's South-Eastern Nigerian Ibibio language form the creative lyrical fabric of the album. A large dose of electronic elements and an approach as influenced by their hometown of London as much as by West Africa, give the vocals and guitar lines space to breath without being overwhelmed.

Featured Tracks:
Voice of the Bird (Uyio Inuen)
I'm Running (Nya Fehe)
The Talking Fish (Asem Usem Iyak)
Let’s Dance (Yak Inek Unek)
Uwa the Peacock (Eki Ko Inuen Uwa)
The Tortoise (Nsaha Edem Ikit)
Woman of Substance (Awuwan Itiaba)
Prodigal Son (Ayen Ake Feheke)
Got to Move, Got to Get Out! (Ana Nkpong ana Nwuoro)
Ibibio Spiritual

You May Also Like

Uyai Limited Vinyl LP + Download
by Ibibio Sound Machine

Release Date: 03 March 2017
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Merge Records