skip to main content

Great Women of Song: Carmen Mcrae Limited Vinyl LP

by Carmen Mcrae

Release Date: 08 March 2024

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Verve


Carmen Mcrae Great Women of Song: Carmen Mcrae Limited Vinyl LP


Like her idol Billie Holiday, Carmen McRae could own a ballad and make it all her own. She could also swing every bit as hard as her other main influence, Ella Fitzgerald. Coming up during the bebop era and under the musical sway of Thelonious Monk, Carmen made a series of recordings for the Decca label that would cement her reputation and launch a career that close to 50 years. Whether in small groups or backed by a studio orchestra, Carmen McRae recorded definitive versions of songs that make up the backbones of jazz and the Great American Songbook.

Featured Tracks:

1 Love Is Here To Stay
2 When I Fall In Love
3 You Don't Know Me
4 Whatever Lola Wants
5 Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
6 You Took Advantage Of Me
7 When The Red, Red, Robin Comes Bob, Bobbin' Along
8 I Was Doing All Right
9 My Romance
10 Exactly Like You
11 How Long Has This Been Going On
12 Blue Moon
13 Ain't Misbehavin'
14 Cheek To Cheek (w/ Sammy Davis Jr.)