skip to main content

Giuseppe Verdi: Messa da Requiem Limited 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set

by Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra

Release Date: 04 August 2023

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Deutsche Grammophon


Out of stock

Add to Wish List

Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra Giuseppe Verdi: Messa da Requiem Limited 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set


THE ORIGINAL SOURCE is a new series of celebrated albums reissued on vinyl. These new releases include Claudio Abbado’s fascinating interpretation of works by Debussy and Ravel with the Boston Symphony Orchestra (1 LP), the legendary recording of Brahms’s Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 with Emil Gilels, the Berliner Philharmoniker and Eugen Jochum (2 LPs), and Verdi’s Messa da Requiem in the iconic version of Herbert von Karajan and Berliner Philharmoniker (2 LPs).

The renowned Berlin-based Emil Berliner Studios are remastering 4-track recordings from the 1970s, using their own cutting-edge and 100% pure analogue techniques (AAA) to create versions of the highest possible audio quality. Compared to the original releases, the advantages in sound are outstanding: More clarity, more details and a better frequency response, less noise, less distortion, less compression – the highest possible audiophile quality which gives listeners the chance to enjoy this repertoire like never before.

Produced on 180g virgin vinyl by Optimal, these limited and numbered releases will be issued in deluxe gatefold editions featuring the original artwork and liner notes, with additional photos and facsimiles of the recording documentation on the inner sleeve. Furthermore, each release includes a note by Rainer Maillard/EBS detailing the technical background and procedure of the Original Source Series, and an additional insert with a photo of the original tape box. Each LP comes in a protective cellophane jacket with a sticker highlighting the USPs of the series:

• Pure analogue mixed & cut from the original four-track ½-inch master tapes (instead of the ¼-inch stereo copies)

• Mixed by Rainer Maillard & cut by Sidney C. Meyer directly from original analogue source at Emil Berliner Studios

• Manufactured at optimal media on 180-gram virgin vinyl

Original Source Series = no copy used, no extra devices in the signal pass, no digital sound processing at all; more clarity, more detail, and far less noise; Pure analogue

Featured Tracks:

Disc: 1

1 Requiem
2 Dies Irae
3 Tuba Mirum
4 Liber Scriptus
5 Quid Sum Miser
6 Rex Tremendae
7 Recordare
8 Ingemisco
9 Confutatis
10 Lacrymosa

Disc: 2

1 Offertorium
2 Sanctus
3 Agnus Dei
4 Lux Aeterna
5 Libera Me