skip to main content

Ella Fitzgerald Sings The George & Ira Gershwin Song Books 6LP Box Set

by Ella Fitzgerald

Release Date: 30 June 2017

Format: Boxed Set Vinyl

Label: Verve


Ella Fitzgerald Ella Fitzgerald Sings The George & Ira Gershwin Song Books Limited Edition Vinyl 6LP Box Set

Ella Fitzgerald Sings The George and Ira Gershwin Song Books, a collaboration with Nelson Riddle that is highly regarded as the pinnacle of her legendary Song Book series, will be released as a limited edition 6LP vinyl box set. A replica of the rare 5LP set originally released in 1959, the Ella 100 edition recreates for the first time since its initial release the original stereo box set on vinyl, the originally included five lithographs by French impressionist painter Bernard Buffet, as well as the hardcover book, Words And Music, which for this set has been updated with additional historical information and an afterword by noted author David Ritz.The 2017 collection was newly mastered by Ron McMaster at Capitol Studios in Hollywood where the album was originally recorded in 1959 under the supervision of Verve Records founder Norman Granz. A sixth LP enlarges the original 10-inch instrumental EP with orchestra tracks on Side One and additional material from the sessions on Side Two. One of the bonus tracks, a mono alternate take of “Oh, Lady Be Good!,” is on vinyl for the first time.

Featured Tracks:
A1 Sam And Delilah
A2 But Not For Me
A3 My One And Only
A4 Let's Call The Whole Thing Off

B1 Beginner's Luck
B2 Oh, Lady Be Good!
B3 Nice Work If You Can Get It
B4 Things Are Looking Up
B5 Just Another Rhumba
B6 How Long Has This Been Going On?

C1 'S Wonderful
C2 The Man I Love
C3 That Certain Feeling
C4 By Strauss
C5 Someone To Watch Over Me
C6 The Real American Folk Song

D1 Who Cares?
D2 Looking For A Boy
D3 They All Laughed
D4 My Cousin From Milwaukee
D5 Somebody From Somewhere

E1 A Foggy Day
E2 Clap Your Hands
E3 For You, For Me, For Everyone
E4 Stiff Upper Lip
E5 Boy Wanted
E6 Strike Up The Band

F1 Soon
F2 I've Got A Crush On You
F3 Bidin' My Time
F4 Aren't You Kind Of Glad We Did
F5 Of Thee I Sing (Baby)

G1 "The Half Of It, Dearie", Blues
G2 I Was Doing All Right
G3 He Loves And She Loves
G4 Love Is Sweeping The Country
G5 Treat Me Rough

H1 Love Is Here To Stay
H2 Slap That Bass
H3 Isn't It A Pity?
H4 Shall We Dance?
H5 Love Walked In
H6 You've Got What Gets Me

I1 They Can't Take That Away From Me
I3 Embraceable You
I4 I Can't Be Bothered Now
I5 Boy! What Love Has Done To Me!
I6 Fascinatin' Rhythm

J1 Funny Face
J2 Lorellei
J3 Oh, So Nice
J4 Let's Kiss And Make Up
J5 I Got Rhythm

K1 Promenade (Walking The Dog)
K2 March Of The Swiss Soldiers
K3 Fidgety Feet
K4 Prelude I
K5 Prelude II
K6 Prelude III
K7 Somebody Loves Me
K8 Cheerful Little Earful
K9 But Not For Me
K10 Lorelei
K11 Love Is Here To Stay
K12 Oh Lady Be Good

You May Also Like

Sings The Cole Porter Songbook Limited Vinyl 2LP Set
by Ella Fitzgerald

Release Date: 23 August 2019
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: Verve

Mack The Knife: Ella In Berlin Limited 180gram Vinyl LP
by Ella Fitzgerald

Release Date: 22 February 2019
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Verve

Love for Sale Limited Vinyl LP
by Ella Fitzgerald

Release Date: 19 October 2018
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: BMG

Ella at Zardi's Limited Vinyl LP
by Ella Fitzgerald

Release Date: 17 August 2018
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Decca


Out of stock

Add to Wish List