skip to main content

Death Of An Optimist Limited Vinyl LP

by Grandson

Release Date: 12 February 2021

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Atlantic Records


Grandson Death Of An Optimist Limited Vinyl LP


Death Of An Optimist is the incredible debut album from grandson. Following grandson’s debut EP trilogy of Modern Tragedy 1, 2, and 3, which turned Canadian-American singer, songwriter, and musician Jordan Edward Benjamin into a vocal spokesperson on some of today’s most pressing political and social issues, Death of an Optimist continues grandson’s dynamic search for meaningful change with some of his most clear-eyed and assertive songwriting yet.

“It is both an origin story and an obituary navigating hope, anxiety and the state of optimism in 2020,” grandson says about the upcoming record.

The first singles from the album, “Riptide” and “Identity”, follow grandson’s a modern tragedy EP trilogy, and mark his first new music since the launch of the XXwhy acoustic campaign. Beginning this past February, grandson has released a series of collaborations, with each performance joined by a XXwhy podcast episode aimed at creating discourse between creatives working in music and activism. The podcast, hosted by grandson and recorded at idobi Radio, features acoustic performances of the collaborative tracks and discussions with the collaborators, activists, and more. Collaborators and guests thus far include K. Flay, Dreamers, Phem, Zero 9:36 and more. Last year grandson founded his XX Resistance Fund to support causes he and the ‘grandkids’ are passionate about.

grandson is set to support A Day To Remember across Europe in 2021 and he sold out Camden Underworld in London in 2019 (1k cap) as well as UK tour dates in Manchester & Birmingham. He played Slam Dunk North & Sound Festivals in 2019 and landed on cover of Rock Sound with an extensive 20-page feature. grandson, with a sound best described as “a buzzsaw of righteous poetry” (Billboard), has been heard in Riverdale, Marvel’s Runaways, and UFC fight promotions. His track “oh no!!!” was featured as the soundtrack to Warner Brothers’ Suicide Squad reveal trailer and in a recent cover story, Rock Sound called grandson “rock’s new leader of the resistance.”

Featured Tracks:

1. Death of an Optimist // Intro
2. In Over My Head
3. Identity
4. Dirty
5. I Don't Feel Right
6. Left Behind
7. The Ballad of G and X // Interlude
8. We Did It
9. WW3
10. Riptide
11. Pain Shopping
12. Drop Dead
13. Welcome To Paradise