skip to main content

Break Line The Musical Limited Vinyl LP

by Anand Wilder & Maxwell Kardon

Release Date: 14 July 2014

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Mute Records


Anand Wilder & Maxwell Kardon Break Line The Musical Limited Vinyl LP

· ‘Break Line’ is Anand Wilder (Yeasayer co-founder, vocalist / multi-instrumentalist) and Maxwell Kardon’s passion project, created with a community of friends and ten years in the making. ‘Break Line’ is cultivated from a story created back in 2004, a classic tale of betrayal, pride and love lost set to music inspired by concept albums and rock operas of the 1970s.
· The list of players captures a very special, collaborative time in Brooklyn, when the music scene was beginning to erupt. In 2008, Anand and Maxwell put together a core band with Ira Wolf Tuton (Yeasayer) on bass and Christopher Powell (Man Man) on drums. Britt Myers (Charlift, Yeasayer, Passing Strange) helped them put their music to tape as they
stayed up late experimenting with sounds and arrangements. To round out the cast they enlisted friends from myriad bands: James Richardson (MGMT), bandmate Chris Keating (Yeasayer), Austin Fisher (Suckers), Haley Dekle (Dirty Projectors), Ryan Kattner (Man Man), K Ishibashi (Kishi Bashi) and Aku Orraca-Tetteh (Dragons Of Zynth), amongst others.
· In the years that followed, the two found moments whenever they could to complete the project. Neither can believe that what started with just the two of them huddled on a cold porch would grow to involve a once-in-a-lifetime cast of collaborators.

Featured Tracks:
1. Coal Into Diamonds
2. Wedding Day
3. Opportunity
4. Hold You Tight
5. They're Stealing Our Coal
6. 4th of July
7. Better to Die
8. It Doesn't Seem Right
9. Fathers and Brothers
10. I'm to Blame
11. Hang Your Head High