skip to main content

April in Paris Limited Vinyl LP + MP3 Download

by Count Basie And His Orchestra

Release Date: 25 March 2016

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Verve (Universal)

£16.99 £9.99

Out of stock

Add to Wish List

Count Basie And His Orchestra April in Paris Limited Vinyl LP + MP3 Download

Hailed as an instant classic, this is big-band heaven and one of the greatest opening tracks on any album. The album oozes swing and helped reconnect jazz lovers with one of the finest bands of the swing era. Yet there is nothing retrospective in this album; it is alive with vitality, elegance, sophistication and modernity. Tip of the hat to Freddie Green, the man who established the rhythm guitar as an important instrument in jazz and most other genres of music. He rarely took a solo, but added so much to so many recordings during his fifty years with Basie’s band. His sense of harmony and his ability to blend with his drummer created something unique and special. Includes a voucher to download MP3 version of the album.

Featured Tracks:
A1 April In Paris
A2 Corner Pocket
A3 Did'n You
A4 Sweety Cakes
A5 Magic
B1 Shiny Stockings
B2 What Am I Here For
B3 Midgets
B4 Mambo Inn
B5 Dinner With Friends