skip to main content

All Rise: A Joyful Elegy For Fats Waller Limited 180gram Vinyl LP

by Jason Moran

Release Date: 10 November 2014

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Blue Note


Jason Moran All Rise: A Joyful Elegy For Fats Waller Limited Blue Note 180gram Vinyl LP

Acclaimed pianist Jason Moran’s new album All Rise: A Joyful Elegy for Fats Waller is a collaboration with the vocalist Meshell Ndegeocello that recasts the music of the legendary jazz entertainer Fats Waller as a modern dance party. The album—which was produced by Ndegeocello and Blue Note Records president Don Was—is the ninth in a formidable catalog that Moran has been building on Blue Note since 1999. All Rise features Moran hosting a changeable cast of musicians that includes vocalists Ndegeocello and Lisa E. Harris, his longtime trio The Bandwagon featuring bassist Tarus Mateen and drummer Nasheet Waits, and a funky horn-inflected ensemble anchored by drummer Charles Haynes that features trumpeter Leron Thomas and trombonist Josh Roseman, as well as guest saxophonist Steve Lehman. The album was recorded and mixed by Bob Power, known for honing the sound on classic hip hop records by A Tribe Called Quest, Common and The Roots. Jason will be performing as part of the Blue Note 75th touring Concert with Robert Glasper in Paris and London this November.

Featured Tracks:
1. Put Your Hands On It
2. Ain't Misbehavin'
3. Yacht Club Swing
4. Lulu's Back in Town
5. Two Sleepy People
6. The Joint Is Jumpin'
7. Honeysuckle Rose
8. Ain't Nobody's Business
9. Fats Elegy
10. Handful of Keys
11. Jitterbug Waltz
12. Sheik of Araby/I Found a New Baby

You May Also Like

Soundtrack To Human Motion Limited Reissue Blue Note Vinyl LP
by Jason Moran

Release Date: 26 January 2015
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Blue Note