skip to main content

1 Love Limited Yellow Vinyl 2LP Set

by Various Artists

Release Date: 25 March 2022

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: War Child Records / Virgin Music


Various Artists 1 Love Limited Yellow Vinyl 2LP Set


Originally released in 2002 in partnership with NME to celebrate their 50th anniversary and 50 years since NME printed the first ever singles chart in the UK. 1 Love saw the cream of British artists come together to pick their favourite number one to cover. Having appeared on the 1995 HELP album, Oasis continued their support of War Child with an acoustic rendition of Slade’s Christmas classic ‘Merry Xmas Everybody’. Stereophonics chose ‘Nothing Compares 2 U’ with Kelly Jones’s gravelly vocal complementing this stripped back version of the track written by Prince, performed by The Family and taken to number one by Sinead O’Connor in 1990.

Faithless and Dido stamped their mark on Beats International’s ‘Dub Be Good To Me’ whilst Jimmy Eat World transformed Prodigy’s ‘Firestarter’ stripping it back but keeping the dark and ominous mood of the original. The Prodigy themselves paid homage to Liam Howlett’s heroes The Specials with their own brooding version of ‘Ghost Town’.

The Manic Street Preachers joined Oasis in appearing on their second album for War Child with a cover of ‘Out Of Time’ and Muse began their journey with the charity by adding their unique spin to 1964 number one ‘The House of the Rising Sun’ by The Animals.

Elsewhere Elbow take on Thunderclap Newman with a low-fi cover of ‘Something In The Air’, there are contributions from Starsailor, Badly Drawn Boy teams up with Jools Holland and his Rhythm and Blues Orchestra and Feeder give a haunting, pre-John Lewis cover of ‘The Power of Love’.

1 Love is part of a series of four releases by War Child Records making the amazing music artists have donated to the charity available on DSPs and vinyl for the first time. All proceeds from these releases will directly fund War Child’s life saving work with children affected by conflict.

Featured Tracks:

Side A

Starsailor – All Or Nothing

Feeder – The Power Of Love

Sugababes – Killer

Muse – House Of The Rising Sun

Side B

Stereophonics – Nothing Compares 2 U

Faithless and Dido – Dub Be Good To Me

Oasis – Merry Christmas Everybody

Elbow – Something In The Air

Side C

The Reelists ft. Ms Dynamite – Back To Life (However Do You Want Me)

Manic Street Preachers – Out Of Time

Badly Drawn Boy and Jools Holland & His Rhythm and Blues Orchestra – Come On Eileen

The Prodigy – Ghost Town

Side D

Jimmy Eat World – Firestarter

Darius – Pretty Flamingos

More Fire Crew ft Gabrielle – Dreams

McAlmont and Butler – Back For Good

You May Also Like

Virgin Front Line Sounds Of Reality (Black History Month) 2LP Set
by Various Artists

Release Date: 15 October 2022
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: UMC

£24.99 £14.99

Brunswick Funk Limited Vinyl LP
by Various Artists

Release Date: 16 September 2022
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Demon Records

Belle (OST) Limited Pink/Blue Vinyl 2LP Set
by Various Artists

Release Date: 19 August 2022
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: Sony Music Classical

80s Dance Classics Limited Vinyl 2LP Set
by Various Artists

Release Date: 19 August 2022
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: Demon Records