skip to main content

Whole Food Limited Coloured Vinyl LP

by Gensu Dean & Denmark Vessey

Release Date: 05 August 2016

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Mello Music Group


Gensu Dean & Denmark Vessey Whole Food Limited Coloured Vinyl LP

These days everything you consume has to be checked - a vibrant outside can hide a genetically modified Frankenstein interior. Finding that 100% organically grown with no artificial rhymes can be difficult. This album is for those looking for something less calculated. Powerful production runs the range from soulful, funk filled, and hard knocking to cool, laid back easy nodders. The rhymes are politically aware without taking themselves too serious - so from the occasional judo chop to the need for sexy, dirty slutty money - Denmark explores life from the perspective of a man who grew up on minimum wage and butter sandwiches but has grown into a self-aware scholar. Lyrics don't sugar coat anything -no matter how rough that truth might appear: "The fleek shall inherit the Earth and the meek shall be buried in dirt - ain't nothing sweet." Denmark delivers existential truths while still throwing in a "where the hoes at?" A street savvy album that explores Black love, brutality, capitalism's grip on our daily thoughts, and the connection it all has to our ancestors. Gensu Dean has produced for David Banner, Large Professor, Roc Marciano, and more, while Denmark Vessey has had his praises sung by the likes of Earl Sweatshirt. This is that sh*t to get you through sh*t.

Featured Tracks:
Intro / The Meek / Whole Food / Ode to XX Chromosome / Saturday / Black Love (feat. 7evenThirty & Iman Omari / Gun Emoji (Bang) / Biscuits & Gravy / Racka Lamb / Broken Petal / Surreal N_gga / Let's Go (Move)