skip to main content

West of Memphis Soundtrack Limited Vinyl LP

by Nick Cave & Warren Ellis

Release Date: 23 June 2014

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Sony Music CMG


Nick Cave & Warren Ellis West of Memphis Soundtrack Limited Vinyl LP

“West of Memphis” was written and directed by Academy Award nominated filmmaker, Amy Berg (DELIVER US FROM EVIL) and produced by Damien Echols, Lorri Davis and multiple Academy Award-winning team of Peter Jackson (LORD OF THE RINGS) and Fran Walsh.

“West of Memphis” tells the untold story behind the police investigation into the 1993 murders of three, eight-year old boys, Christopher Byers, Steven Branch and Michael Moore in the small town of West Memphis, Arkansas. The film goes on to uncover new evidence surrounding the arrest and conviction of the other three victims of this shocking crime – Damien Echols, Jason Baldwin and Jessie Misskelley.

How the documentary came to be, is in itself a key part of the story of Damien Echols’ fight to save his own life. The film reveals how close he, his wife Lorri Davis, along with his legal team, friends and supporters, came to losing that battle. But as Echols, who spent eighteen years on death row, himself has stated "... in the face of such horror, in the face of resounding grief and pain, you cannot give up ... you must never give up. As I listened to Nick’s music on an MP3 wristwatch in prison it is a true honor to have Nick and Warren score this film”.

Peter Jackson & Fran Walsh are part of a group of supporters which includes Eddie Vedder, Johnny Depp, Natalie Maines and Henry Rollins, who became involved in the world wide movement to free the West Memphis Three. Jackson got to know Damien Echols behind bars and in the course of their friendship, he became familiar with Echols’ taste in music: “Damien first heard Nick Cave when he was confined within the walls of a prison cell on Death Row. Nick's music spoke to Damien during some very dark times and the score that Nick and Warren have composed for West of Memphis, dramatizes even more powerfully Damien's subsequent journey to freedom.” Jackson went on to say: “We are privileged to have Nick and Warren compose the music for this film. Their dark and magnificent score acknowledges all of the pain and beauty in Damien's remarkable story ”.

Cave called the film “a meticulous autopsy of a monstrous crime and its vast and terrible reverberations. Beautifully crafted by Amy Berg, West of Memphis is a crucial document on social injustice.” After spending two years shooting on location in West Memphis, Arkansas, Director Amy Berg ‘s first and only choice to score the film were Nick and Warren. “Nick Cave and Warren Ellis are composers in the truest sense. Drawing upon the elements of great songwriting they understand implicitly how to shape a narrative so that the audience can engage with the emotional journey of the film. So often there’s reluctance from directors to work with composers from a rock 'n' roll background, but for me it was always my first choice. Nick and Warren always seem to balance hope and tragedy beautifully in the strange music they make.” said Berg. Music Supervisor and Soundtrack Exec. Producer Jonathan McHugh had this to say: “working with Amy Berg and her amazing team was a true honour and Nick and Warren’s score added the perfect tone to this powerful film”.

Featured Tracks:
1. West of Memphis
2. 1994
3. Investigation
4. Vincent Di Malo
5. Eyewitness
6. Groundswell
7. Alford Plea
8. Scene of the Crime
9. The interview
10. Arkansas Supreme Court Decision
11. West Memphis 3