skip to main content

We Three Limited Reissue Back To Black 180gram Vinyl LP + Mp3

by Roy Haynes With Phineas Newbor

Release Date: 19 May 2014

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Concord


Roy Haynes With Phineas Newborn & Paul Chambers We Three Limited Reissue Back To Black 180gram Vinyl LP + Mp3

We Three, recorded in a single session in 1958, was the first American studio date as a bandleader for the diminutive and legendary jazz drummer Roy Haynes, although with pianist Phineas Newborn on board (along with bassist Paul Chambers), it really is a set dominated by Newborn, whose busy two-handed technique here works in tandem balance with Haynes’ cool refinement. Unfortunately, this trio only had a brief recording career together, but, as this solid set shows, they made the best of it. This vinyl reissue is a vital addition to all jazz album collections. This album is one in a series of special 2014 releases commemorating the 65th anniversary of Prestige Records and the 90th birthday of legendary recording engineer Rudy Van Gelder. Significant press attention will be given to these two milestones throughout the year, including much discussion about the 2014 Prestige catalog of reissues. 180g ‘Back To Black’ Vinyl Reissue with free Mp3 digital download redemption code.

Featured Tracks:
1. Reflection
2. Sugar Ray
3. Solitaire
4. After Hours
5. Sneakin' Around
6. Our Delight