skip to main content

The Worry Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

by Seekae

Release Date: 15 September 2014

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Future Classic


Seekae The Worry Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

Sydney/London three-piece SEEKAE are excited to announce details of their third album and attendant tour. The Worry will be released via Future Classic on 12 September 2014. Over the past six years, the Australian-English outfit have won a hugely loyal following and a swag of awards for their signature blend of electronic pop, IDM, post-dubstep, post-rock, house and ambient. Their stunning debut The Sounds of Trees Falling On People was anointed one of the albums of the decade by FBi Radio; assured follow-up +Dome achieved Mojo Magazine’s Album of the Month in the UK and saw SEEKAE nominated for four Australian Independent Music Awards. The band then took +Dome on the road, touring Europe, Japan and North America, culminating in a sold-out Sydney Opera House show with an 8 piece-orchestra. 2014 has seen a successful SXSW visit and three sold-out UK shows. A super-deluxe 3LP vinyl re-release of +DOME and The Sound Of Trees Falling On People sold out quickly after its March release, fans coercing the band into repressing. The Worry sees percussionist Alex Cameron drafted into full-time vocal duties on eleven songs that range across themes of nihilism, revenge, and – occasionally – the redemptive power of love. It’s a dramatic about-face that is exciting the band’s existing fans and earning them a legion of new ones. The album’s first single is “Another”, which was released in 2013 to immediate critical acclaim. It heralded the new direction in the band’s style: a haunting, spartan melody, punctuated by forceful drum claps, a rolling bassline and ethereal pads. Like much of The Worry, the sound is glacial and synthetic, with the meticulously layered production that SEEKAE has long been known for. A host of other new musical influences saturate the album, which is mixed by David Wrench (Caribou, Bat For Lashes, Four Tet, Jungle). Bitter, belligerent confessional “Test and Recognise” is punctuated by up-tempo 90s industrial beats generated by a vintage drum machine emulator. Live orchestral sounds make an appearance in “Monster”, in which a pulsing hip-hop rhythm gives way to woodwind and brass, building to an intense wall of sound. Many songs on the album seem in constant flux as they oscillate between the band’s far-reaching musical influences. “Oxen Calm” unites live horns with swirling, distorted synths. Title track “The Worry” is an aggressive revenge anthem that resolves into a dance floor masterpiece. The album is also studded with audio samples found in unlikely places. “Monster” features sounds extracted from dusty, discarded VHS tapes the band picked up off the street near their Sydney studio. And “Back Out”, the album’s chilling intro, opens with an audio grab of John’s acquaintances laying bare their cynical attitude to women and the possibility of love.

Featured Tracks:
1. Back Out
2. Another
3. Hands
4. Test & Recognise
5. Boys
6. The Worry
7. Further
8. Oxen Calm
9. The Stars Below
10. Monster
11. Still Moving
12. Tais
13. Goals

You May Also Like

The Sound of Trees Falling on People / +DOME Limited Vinyl 3LP Set
by Seekae

Release Date: 01 September 2014
Format: LP Triple Vinyl
Label: Future Classic