skip to main content

The Spell Limited Vinyl 2LP Set


Release Date: 22 March 2019

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Nuclear Blast


Cellar Darling The Spell Limited Vinyl 2LP Set


Cellar Darling’s second full-length The Spell weaves a dark fairytale for the modern era, told through heavy yet intricate, progressive folk rock, enchanting visual art and utterly immersive storytelling. The band began in 2016 after Anna Murphy (vocals, hurdy-gurdy), Merlin Sutter (drums) and Ivo Henzi (guitars and bass) left Swiss folk metallers Eluveitie, which they had all played in for over a decade. But they weren’t ready to end their musical journey together yet, and wanted to embark on a new and different path.

The three-piece introduced these spellbinding sounds to the world with their debut album This Is The Sound in 2017. But for The Spell, they decided to take their musical ideas and creativity one step further, and to make a concept album, after the initial idea for The Spell came to Anna randomly while she was out hiking with her father. It tells the tale of an unnamed girl who is birthed into a world that is full of pain, damaged and debilitated by the human beings that inhabit it. We follow her as she searches for meaning in life, when suddenly she meets and falls in love with death – concluding with an ambiguous ending that leaves the listener wondering. Though Anna set out to create abstract rather than autobiographical lyrics, The Spell became a personal journey for her.

Featured Tracks:

Side: 1

1. Pain
2. Death
3. Love

Side: 2

1. The Spell
2. Burn
3. Hang

Side: 3

1. Sleep
2. Insomnia
3. Freeze
4. Fall

Side: 4

1. Drown
2. Love, Pt. II
3. Death, Pt. II

You May Also Like

This Is The Sound Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set

Release Date: 30 June 2017
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: Nuclear Blast Records