skip to main content

The New Folk Sound Of Terry Callier Limited Vinyl 2LP Set


Release Date: 21 September 2018

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Concord


Terry Callier The New Folk Sound Of Terry Callier Limited Vinyl 2LP Set

The 1968 debut album from celebrated Chicago-based guitarist TERRY CALLIER will be officially released for the first time--on vinyl September 21 when Los Angeles’ Craft Recordings reissues The New Folk Sound Of Terry Callier. The album - originally recorded on one afternoon in 1964 but not released until four years later when a copy of the almost-lost master was rediscovered - is unique in that it features just an acoustic guitar and two bass players. The New Folk Sound of Terry Callier (originally on Prestige Records) conveys the promise and power of Callier in his earliest days. It’s a document marking a particular moment, capturing a young man in his element, his voice and soul, jazz and folk-infused songs timeless. This new version includes five previously unreleased alternate takes(“900 Miles,” “Promenade In Green,” “It’s About Time” and “Be My Woman”) along with two tracks making their vinyl debut (“Jack O’Diamonds” and “Golden Apples of the Sun”), as well as new liner notes by Jason Woodbury which help narrate this lost gem. “…the album stands today as a minor masterpiece.” -The Guardian

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. 900 Miles
2. Oh Dear, What Can the Matter Be
3. Johnny Be Gay If You Can Be
4. Cotton Eyed Joe
5. It's About Time
6. Promenade in Green
7. Spin Spin Spin
8. I'm a Drifter

Disc: 2
1. Jack O'diamonds
2. The Golden Apples of the Sun
3. Promenade in Green (Take 1)
4. Be My Woman (Take 1)
5. 900 Miles (Take 1)
6. It's About Time (Take 2)
7. Oh Dear, What Can the Matter Be (Take 2)

You May Also Like

FIRE ON ICE Limited 180gram Audiophile Vinyl LP

Release Date: 25 May 2018
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Music On Vinyl