skip to main content

The Hills Have Eyes Limited Deluxe Gatefold Black Vinyl LP

by Don Peake

Release Date: 05 May 2014

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: One Way Static Records


Don Peake The Hills Have Eyes (Original 1977 Motion Picture Soundtrack) Limited Deluxe Gatefold Black Vinyl LP

Prolific and multitalented composer, musician & record producer DON PEAKE wrote the original soundtrack for Wes Craven’s THE HILLS HAVE EYES (1977) where his eerie soundtrack punched up some of the films most unnerving scenes.

Don started his music career in 1961 as the lead guitarist for The Everly Brothers and played guitar for ten years in the Ray Charles Orchestra. Don played guitar on Phil Spector’s Righteous Brothers hit “You’ve Lost That Loving Feeling,” Ike and Tina Turners “River Deep, Mountain High” and the Jackson Five’s hit song “ABC” to name just a few. He worked as an arranger for such artists as Roy Orbison, The Monkees, Wayne Newton, Marvin Gaye, Barry White, Sonny and Cher, John Lennon, The Beach Boys, Diana Ross and many, many more. Don was a respected staff guitarist at Motown Records. Mr. Peake was part of the legendary ‘Wrecking Crew’ an elite clique of notable musicians employed by some of the biggest acts on the planet. Phil Spector even used the crew to create his trademarked ‘Wall Of Sound’. Don composed countless movie soundtracks for feature films and television in a wide variety of genres Two of his films are Academy Award winners. Most will know his musical work for the KNIGHT RIDER TV series. And yes, that includes the memorable theme song you can’t seem to get out of your head since the eighties! In 2007, Don Peake was inducted into the Musician’s Hall of Fame in Nashville, TN.

One Way Static Records is proud to announce the release of this historical motion picture soundtrack. A truly eerie experimental score that uses natural devices and existing instruments. It’s fascinating to know that most of the percussion sounds heard are actually the sounds of the bone & teeth necklaces worn by the actors that are being played like instruments. Not for the faint of heart!
Now available as a Deluxe Black Vinyl Edition, limited #1400 copies worldwide.
Packaged in an old school Tip-On Gatefold jacket. Comes with a printed insert containing extensive and exclusive liner notes from: DEE WALLACE (E.T., Cujo, Critters) ERIC SAARINEN (Gimme Shelter, Death Race 2000) JANUS BLYTHE (Phantom Of The Paradise, Eaten Alive, The Incredible Melting Man) MICHAEL BERRYMAN (One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest, The Devil's Rejects, Star Trek) SUZE LANIER (The Hills Have Eyes parts 1+2) & DON PEAKE himself.

Featured Tracks:
1. M2-2
2. M3-3
3. M5-1
4. MQ
5. M1-2
6. M1-3
7. M3-4
8. M3-4, 3-5, 3-6
9. Wild Synth - Wind and Bush
10. M2-6
11. M3-7
12. M4-1
13. M4-4
14. M5-2 Re
15. Oil Can Spout
16. M5-4
17. The Rabbit
18. MQ
19. M1-1
20. M2-1a
21. M2-2 Re
22. M2-5
23. M3-3 Re
24. M3-1
25. M3-8
26. M3-9
27. M4-2
28. M4-5
29. M5-1
30. MQ
31. MQ
32. M5-6
33. M5-7
34. M5-7 Wild Ax Hits
35. MQ
36. M5-8
37. M2-3
38. MQ
39. MQ
40. MQ
41. M4-5