skip to main content

The Heart Is A Monster Limited 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set + Download

by Failure

Release Date: 18 September 2015

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: Xtra Mile Recordings


Failure The Heart Is A Monster Limited 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set + Download

First album in 19 years from the band's band - failure. The long-awaited follow up to 1996's now-legendary 'Fantastic Planet' album (featuring songs since covered by A Perfect Circle And Paramore). Failure formed in Los Angeles in the early 90s, releasing 'Comfort', their debut album, in 1992 via Slash Records. 'Magnified' followed in the spring of 1994 with the band's final offering, 'Fantastic Planet', released in 1996. "Thematically we've moved from the outer space of 'Fantastic Planet' to inner space", said guitar / bass player Greg Edwards of Failure's new album. "From the dislocation of one's identity to the complete erasing of it by sleep and dreams. I think we've used instrumentation in the service of mood and emotion to an even greater degree than on our previous record". The band returned from a 17-year hiatus in early 2014 with a single Los Angeles date planned. The show sold out in seconds, which led to a North American tour, including a run of dates with Tool and then eventually back to the studio. "We wanted to come back as a full functioning musical force and creatively pick up where we left off with 'Fantastic Planet'. That meant we needed to start experimenting in the studio first, which we did in late 2013. After a few months, we came to the conclusion that we were having a good time and that we liked the results, and that we thought the results were definitely Failure. We've been chipping away at a new album this whole time".

Featured Tracks:
Disc: 1
1. Segue 4 - Failure
2. Hot Traveler - Failure
3. A.M. Amnesia - Failure
4. Snow Angel - Failure

Disc: 2
1. Atom City Queen
2. Segue 5
3. Counterfeit Sky
4. Petting the Carpet

Disc: 3
1. Mulholland Dr.
2. Fair Light Era
3. Segue 6
4. Come Crashing
5. Segue 7
6. The Focus

Disc: 4
1. Otherwhere
2. Segue 8
3. I Can See Houses
4. Segue 9