skip to main content

THE EMINENT VOL. 1 & 2 Limited 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set

by Jay Jay Johnson

Release Date: 24 May 2019

Format: LP Double Vinyl



Jay Jay Johnson THE EMINENT VOL. 1 & 2 Limited 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set


“The Eminent J.J. Johnson Volume 1” captures the 29 year old trombonist turning the jazz world green with envy. J. J. Johnson’s command of the trombone is stunning: fast or slow, high or low, he plays it all with seemingly effortless mastery. Note how melodic his solos are, even on the up-tempo numbers. Jimmy Heath on tenor and Clifford Brown on trumpet play with energy and passion. The second volume of “Eminent,” was originally released on Blue Note as two 10-inch records. The first six tunes are from the ‘54 session featuring Mingus(!), Wynton Kelly, Kenny Clarke and Sabu on congas. Given the year of the recording, this is surely one of the better from the Rudy Van Gelder remastered series.

Featured Tracks:

Disc: 1

1. Capri
2. Lover Man
3. Turnpike
4. Sketch 1
5. It Could Happen to You
6. Get Happy
7. Jay
8. Old Devil Moon
9. It's You or No One
10. Too Marvelous for Words
11. Coffee Pot
12. Time After Time

Disc: 2

1. "Daylie" Double
2. Pennies from Heaven
3. You're Mine You
4. Groovin'
5. Portrait of Jennie
6. Viscosity
7. Capri (Alternate Take)
8. Turnpike (Alternate Take)
9. Blues for Trombones
10. What Is This Thing Called Love
11. Lament
12. The Major