skip to main content

Strange Friend Limited Gatefold Heavyweight 180gram Vinyl LP + CD

by The Phantom Band

Release Date: 26 May 2014

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Chemikal Underground


The Phantom Band Strange Friend Limited Gatefold Heavyweight 180gram Vinyl LP + CD Album

· The Phantom Band return after a near four year gap with a 9 track album entitled ‘Strange Friend’, the Glasgow 6- piece’s follow up to 2010’s critically acclaimed ‘The Wants’.
· As with their previous outings, ‘Strange Friend’ represents a complex fusion of influences and reference points, the collated input of six distinct personalities which forms much more than the sum of its parts.
· Perhaps the most straight-up set of recordings the band
have released, ‘Strange Friend’ retains the burbling,
fluttering electronics that characterised their earlier
albums’ love of German Kosmische and John Carpenter
soundtracks while retaining elements of rock and folk.
· The Phantom Band’s lead singer Rick Anthony currently
features on the longlist for The Scottish Album Of The Year
(SAY) Award for ‘No Selfish Heart’ under his solo moniker
Rick Redbeard.
· The LP is pressed on 180gsm heavyweight vinyl with a
gatefold sleeve and a copy of the album on CD.

Featured Tracks:
1. The Wind That Cried The World
2. Clapshot
3. Doom Patrol
4. Atacama
5. (Invisible) Friend
6. Sweatbox
7. No Shoes Blues
8. Women Of Ghent
9. Galapagos

You May Also Like