skip to main content

Speak Low Limited Vinyl LP

by Lucia Cadotsch

Release Date: 19 August 2016

Format: LP Vinyl



Lucia Cadotsch Speak Low Limited Vinyl LP

'Speak Low' is Lucia Cadotsch's new working band. With Petter Eldh on double bass and Otis Sansjö on tenor saxophone, she sings a captivating beautiful collection of modern classics, like "Gloomy Sunday", "Strange Fruit" and "Moon River". The versions carry the unmistakable stamp of Berlin 2016. Live, minimalistic, symphonic! What's special about this trio is the absence of both a harmonic and a rhythmic instrument. But if you think this would narrow the trio's expressive range you are mistaken. Speak Low have everything they need to interpret these beautiful songs in their own unique, stirring and very contemporary way. In one place, you hear the saxophone and think of a vintage synthesizer; in another, the strings and wood of the bass sound like the kick and claps of an 808. This is a real band, with musicians who can play the hell out of anything and are not afraid to hold back. Above all, Lucia Cadotsch lays it down straight: she sings freely and with pride, she uses her gorgeous instrument like a real storyteller. What she sings always sounds real because there is a hotline between the song and her heart.

Featured Tracks:
1. Slow Hot Wind
2. Speak Low
3. Strange Fruit
4. Ain't Got No, I Got Life
5. Don't Explain
6. Deep Song
7. Some Other Spring
8. Willow Weep for Me
9. Gloomy Sunday
10. Moon River