skip to main content

SONGS OF THE SOIL / GREATEST! Limited 180gram Vinyl LP

by Johnny Cash

Release Date: 27 July 2018

Format: LP Vinyl




“Songs of Our Soil” is the sixth album by the country music pioneer Johnny Cash, released in 1959. It’s Cash’ folkier
side. We can find the theme of death in many of the tracks, such as “The Man on the Hill”, “Hank and Joe and Me”,
“Clementine”, “My Grandfather’s Clock”, “Don’t Step on Mother’s Roses” and “The Caretaker”, a story of a cemetery
caretaker wondering who will mourn for him when his time comes. “Greatest!” is Cash’s fourth album. Six became
singles. Some gems to be found here: the rollicking “Get Rhythm,” a fine cover of Charlie Feathers’ “I Forgot to
Remember to Forget,” a pair of solid Hank Williams interpretations (“You Win Again” and “Hey Good Lookin’”), and his tribute to the singular talents of guitarist Luther Perkins, “Luther Played the Boogie.””

Featured Tracks:
LP: Side A: Songs Of Our Soil
1. Drink To Me
2. Five Feet High And Rising
3. The Man On The Hill
4. Hank And Joe And Me
5. Clementine
6. The Great Speckled Bird
7. I Want To Go Home
8. The Caretaker
9. Old Apache Squaw
10. Don’t Step On Mother’s Roses
11. My Grandfather’s Clock
12. It Could Be You

Side B: Greatest!
1. Goodbye Little Darlin’
2. I Just Thought You’d Like To Know
3. You Tell Me
4. Just About Time
5. I Forgot To Remember To Forget
6. Katy Too
7. Thanks A Lot
8. Luther Played The Boogie
9. You Win Again
10. Hey Good Lookin’
11. I Could Never Be Ashamed Of You
12. Get Rhythm

You May Also Like

16 BIGGEST HITS Limited 180gram Audiophile Vinyl LP
by Johnny Cash

Release Date: 01 March 2022
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Music On Vinyl


Out of stock

Add to Wish List

Bear's Sonic Journals: Carousel Ballroom, April 24/04/1968 2LP Set
by Johnny Cash

Release Date: 03 December 2021
Format: LP Double Vinyl
Label: BMG Rights Management

Complete Mercury Albums 1986-1991 Limited Vinyl 7LP Box Set
by Johnny Cash

Release Date: 26 June 2020
Format: Box Set Vinyl
Label: UMC / Mercury