skip to main content

Silhouette Of Sirens Limited Vinyl LP + Download

by Chasity Brown

Release Date: 07 September 2018

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Red House Records


Chasity Brown Silhouette Of Sirens Limited Vinyl LP + Download

An artist who can plumb the depths of sadness in a single note, then release it in the very next breath, Chastity Brown melds folk, pop and soul on Silhouette of Sirens, weaving together a poet's lyrical ear and a raw soul-laid-bare quality. With an electrifying voice that thrums with emotion, she creates moods by layering her sprawling melodies over pulsing rhythms and soaring choruses.A product of two cultures, the Northeast and the South, she writes from the cultural experience and perspective of being a bi-racial woman; of being just as much one thing as the other ... the feeling of being within, yet apart. From the first track, the gorgeous slow build of Drive Slow, you're arrested by the raw ache of Brown's voice, which breaks with feeling as she sings, all my life, I was afraid of everything. The album's 10 original tracks introduce us to a new voice a songwriter of power and conviction who isn't afraid to bare her heart, singing of heartbreak, need and love. Wake Up, the first single, is a beat- heavy, minor key tune of longing where she sings, Wake up honey, love come on soon. Carried Away, propelled by her driving acoustic guitar, finds her singing look what you did to my heart before the chorus, you get carried away, then you fall. On the album's starkly beautiful centerpiece, the piano and strings-driven My Stone, she pleads, Don't leave me here all alone / For so long you've been my light in the dark, while on the sexy, Prince-channeling acoustic funk jam, Whisper, she beckons the listener to come closer, to dance with her in the dark, to whisper in my ear all that you need. Straddling worlds and musical genres, Brown's emotionally charged songs are unforgettable and transforming.

Featured Tracks:
1. Drive Slow
2. Wake Up
3. Carried Away
4. Whisper
5. My Stone
6. Lies
7. Colorado
8. How Could I Forget
9. Lost