skip to main content

Rising Grace Limited 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set

by Wolfgang Muthspiel

Release Date: 09 December 2016

Format: LP Double Vinyl

Label: ECM


Wolfgang Muthspiel Rising Grace Limited 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set

Wolfgang Muthspiel – whom The New Yorker has called “a shining light” among today’s jazz guitarists – made his ECM leader debut in 2014 with the trio disc Driftwood, featuring him alongside two longtime colleagues, bassist Larry Grenadier and drummer Brian Blade. For his follow-up – Rising Grace, which is released on 180g vinyl as well as CD – the Austrian guitarist has convened a very special quintet, adding jazz luminary Brad Mehldau on piano and the outstanding young trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire to the subtly virtuosic Grenadier/Blade rhythm section. Muthspiel moves between electric guitar and classically tinged acoustic six-string, his playing by turns grooving (“Boogaloo”) and enchanting (“Rising Grace”). The lyrical flights of Akinmusire’s trumpet and the probing improvisations of Mehldau run through Muthspiel’s rich set of compositions like golden threads, the tracks including a warm tribute to a late, great ECM artist, Kenny Wheeler (“Den Wheeler, Den Kenny”). Rising Grace also includes a deeply melodious piece that Mehldau composed especially for the album, “Wolfgang’s Waltz.” "Very classy... A set that eptomises ECM's famous flair for oblique music that grows on you." - John Fordham, The Guardian **** Personnel: Wolfgang Muthspiel (guitar), Ambrose Akinmusire (trumpet), Brad Mehldau (piano), Larry Grenadier (double-bass), Brian Blade (drums)

Featured Tracks:
LP 1:
Rising Grace
Intensive Care
Triad Song
Father And Sun

LP 2:
Wolfgang's Waltz
Den Wheeler Den Kenny
Ending Music