skip to main content

Rendezvous 8:02 Limited 180gram Audiophile LP


Release Date: 18 June 2012

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Music On Vinyl


Gare Du Nord Rendezvous 8:02 Limited 180gram Audiophile LP

Out now for you is the new album by Gare du Nord entitled Rendezvous 8:02. The album marks the revival of the jazz and blues driven soundtrack approach so typical for the first Gare du Nord albums. The album features trumpet players Erik Truffaz and Jan van Duikeren and comes from Blue Note Records on cd, download and audiophile vinyl through Music On Vinyl.

Dutch composers and musicians Ferdinand Lancée and Barend Fransen formed Gare du Nord in 2001, when they started writing lounge music in Belgium. Instead of going just for moody sounds and loungy atmospheres, the twosome composed a songcycle to express their contemporary interpretation of traditional delta blues.

Their debut album '(in search of) Excellounge', released in 2001, was certified gold. The follow-up 'Kind Of Cool' was released in 2002. Several songs of both albums have been used in 'Six Feet Under' and the movie 'Ghost Rider'. 'Rendezvous 8:02', their newest and eighth studio album, contains eleven tracks. All songs presented here were conceived in the City of Light where urban life twinkles in a million shades of blue.

That is probably why this happysad music reflects younger days in the big city. Gathered together for the very first time these songs sound and feel like birds of a feather. And maybe that is exactly what they are. Two of which are destined for a soundtrack-pitch for the new Quentin Tarantino movie entitled "Django Unchained". Besides a new track ("Tarantino's Tango"), Gare Du Nord recorded a new version of "Pablo's Blues", in which blues legend Robert Johnson excels.

Music On Vinyl is proud to make 'Rendezvous 8:02' its very first Blue Note release!

• 180 grams audiophile vinyl.

Featured Tracks:
1. Tom's Song
2. What's Up
3. Somethin' Like That
4. Pablo's Blues 2012 (Tarantino Mix)
5. Tarantino's Tango
6. Hey, Mr. Glider
7. Groove Me Up
8. Poor Boy's Blues
9. Hotel Beat, Paris
10. Golden Days Of West Coast Jazz
11. The Great Fantastic

You May Also Like