skip to main content

REJOICE! I'M DEAD! Limited Vinyl 2LP Set


Release Date: 14 June 2019

Format: LP Double Vinyl



GONG REJOICE! I’M DEAD! Limited Vinyl 2LP Set


The first album of the new age of gong - the multi-national, multi-dimensional psychedelic legend - featuring guests Steve Hillage, Didier Malherbe. Following the release of new album ‘The Universe Also Collapses’ and UK tour.
The 2LP edition is presented in a wide spine sleeve.
“Inspired by the light, love and passing of our dear friend and inspiration Daevid Allen.” - Dave Sturt
Gong entered yet another new phase on their four-decades-plus journey with ‘Rejoice! I’m Dead!’, their 2016 studio album. It was the follow up to 2014’s ‘I See You’, the last album Daevid Allen was to record with Gong.
Some say it couldn’t, or shouldn’t, be done. How could Gong exist without Daevid Allen? A few minutes into listening to Rejoice! and aspersions will be cast aside. New members and old coalesce. It is undeniably Gong.
‘Rejoice! I’m Dead!’ is classified as the band’s 28th album and the Gong legacy is the strongest it has been since 1974. Every member was key in the development of each new song - Kavus Torabi (vocals/guitar), also of Knifeworld, who joined Gong in 2014 in time for the last album unaware of
the direction his new gig as a guitar player would take, Fabio Golfetti (guitar/ vocals), Dave Sturt (bass/vocals), Ian East (sax/flute) and Cheb Nettles (drums/ vocals) took on the mantle of steering the Teapot further into outer space and the inner ear. The voice of Daevid Allen features on 2 songs - “Model Village” and “Beatrix”, and the album also features guests - Steve Hillage playing a guitar solo on “Rejoice!” and Didier Malherbe’s duduk can be heard on “Model Village” and “Through Restless Seas I Come”.
‘Rejoice! I’m Dead!’ was recorded in London in the Spring of 2016 at Brixton Hill Studios, engineered by Nick Howiantz and Gong; mixed by Mark Cawthra (Infallible Ear) and Dave Sturt (Swimming Head).

Featured Tracks:

Side: 1

1. The Thing That Should Be ( 03:34 ) - Gong
2. Rejoice ! ( 10:17 ) - Gong
3. Kapital ( 03:21 ) - Gong

Side: 2

1. Model Village ( 06:43 )
2. Beatrix ( 02:54 )
3. Visions ( 04:29 )

Side: 3

1. The Unspeakable Stands Revealed ( 11:49 )

Side: 4

1. Through Restless Seas I Come ( 06:58 )
2. Insert Yr Own Prophecy ( 09:36 )

You May Also Like

I SEE YOU Limited Gatefold Vinyl 2LP Set

Release Date: 08 June 2018
Format: LP Double Vinyl

£24.99 £14.99

Out of stock

Add to Wish List

Rejoice! I'm Dead! Limited Gatefold 180gram Heavyweight Vinyl 2LP

Release Date: 16 September 2016
Format: LP Double Vinyl