skip to main content

Reach For The Sky Limited Gatefold 180gram Audiophile Vinyl LP

by The Allman Brothers Band

Release Date: 21 February 2018

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Friday Music

£24.99 £9.99

Out of stock

Add to Wish List

The Allman Brothers Band Reach For The Sky Limited Gatefold 180gram Audiophile Vinyl LP

Featured Tracks:
Limited edition 180-gram LP

Mastered by Joe Reagoso at Capitol Records

Plated and pressed at RTI

The Allman Brothers Band's signature mix of down-home groove and instrumental virtuosity, blues-drenched soul and guitar-driven rock, and dedication to all-night jamming, laid the groundwork for what became known as the Southern Rock movement. The band rewrote the rulebook on how rock guitarists could play together along the way, and laid the groundwork for every two and even three-guitar band that would follow in their wake.

A third incarnation of the ABB was formed for 1979's Enlightened Rogues — a line-up of Gregg Allman (keyboards, vocals), Dickey Betts (guitar, vocals), Dan Toler (guitar), David Goldflies (bass), Butch Trucks (drums, percussion) and Jaimoe (drums) — which would remain for a three album run through 1981's Brothers of the Road before disbanding once again.

The gospel-infused 1980 release Reach For The Sky fell in the middle of those three offerings, a well constructed eight-song set home to such ABB gems as Dickey Betts' "Hell & High Water," Gregg Allman's stellar "Mystery Woman," the instrumental "From The Madness Of The West," and the surprise hit single "Angeline."

Friday Music is pleased to offer a limited edition 180-gram vinyl pressing of The Allman Brothers Band's Reach For The Sky with mastering courtesy of Joe Reagoso at Capitol Records and manufacturing from RTI.

Featured Tracks:
Side 1
Hell & High Water
Mystery Woman
From The Madness Of The West
I Got A Right To Be Wrong

Side 2
Famous Last Words
Keep On Keepin’ On
So Long

You May Also Like