skip to main content

Perpetual Gateways Limited Gatefold 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set + Download

by Ed Motta

Release Date: 12 February 2016

Format: LP Double Vinyl



Ed Motta Perpetual Gateways Limited Gatefold 180gram Vinyl 2LP Set + Download

This studio album by the Brazilian superstar singer, songwriter, instrumentalist and bon vivant Ed Motta is produced by Kemau Kenyatta (Gregory Porter). 180g vinyl, gatefold sleeve and includes a download code. His epic production features an all-star cast of West Coast musicians, including Patrice Rushen and Greg Phillinganes (keyboards), Hubert Laws (flute), Marvin 'Smitty' Smith (drums), Tony Dumas (bass) and Charles Owens (saxophone). 'Perpetual Gateways' mines the territory between Spiritual Jazz with a deep sense of soul and prog-rocking fusion and tells deeply poetic stories of life and love and the liberties we take with them. At the front and centre of it all is Ed Motta's unique voice and songwriting, leading us on a journey from groove gems through lost-love-ballads and on to energetic and effervescent jazz tunes. "The album title to me sounds a bit like Science Fiction", says Ed. "And that makes sense: I feel this is my best work to date and truly a dream come true. I would never have believed to be making such a record with such a cast of great musicians and to enjoy the process like I did. I just hope this energy and excitement and the humbling presence of these musicians comes across."

Featured Tracks:
Captain's Refusal / Hypochondriac's Fun / Good Intentions / Reader's Choice / Heritage Deja Vu / Forgotten Nickname / The Owner / A Town In Flames / I Remember Julie / Overblown Overweight