skip to main content

One Limited Vinyl LP + Download

by Kate Boy

Release Date: 06 November 2015

Format: LP Vinyl

Label: Fiction


Kate Boy One Limited Vinyl LP + Download

Kate Boy – Australian Kate Akhurst and Swede Markus Dextegen - will release their debut album ONE on 6th November digitally and on CD and vinyl LP on Fiction Records. Featuring the singles Midnight Sun, Higher, and Self Control, ONE is self-produced and was recorded in Stockholm, the capital of pop. Consequently, they aren't afraid to unleash an almighty chorus. But while much contemporary pop is all surface with little substance, Kate Boy's songs deal with the unifying pull of self-empowerment, of trying to bring people together as one giant bundle of energy.

It's not just Kate Boy’s lyrics that have depth and significance, but also the intricacies of the music itself and the way they present it. Inspired by the Fairlight CMI – a legendary digital sampling synthesizer from the late 1970s – Kate Boy built their own synths that have infused ONE with vintage style electronic warmth and texture. Their unique, visual aesthetic inspiration is taken from the likes of Finnish artist Pia Mannikko, painter Franz Kline, photographer Serge Najjar and filmmakers such as David Cronenberg and David Lynch.

They have been touring across the globe including sets at SXSW Festival, Secret Garden Party and The Great Escape as well as headline shows at Koko, XOYO, Sebright Arms and The Lexington in London. Their singles have been acclaimed by the likes of Pitchfork, V Magazine, The Line of Best Fit and Interview Magazine.

Featured Tracks:
1. Midnight Sun
2. Northern Lights
3. Lion For Real
4. Human Engine
5. Burn
6. Higher
7. Self Control
8. When I Was Young
9. The Way We Are
10. Open Fire
11. Run As One